Album review
Present Dub
Niney & The Soul Syndicate

Tracking list

  1. Smile Dub
  2. Here I Come Dub
  3. So Long Dub
  4. Travelling Man Dub
  5. You're No Good Dub
  6. Cassandra Dub
  7. Blood Dub
  8. Dinner Dub
  9. Love Dub
  10. Prophesy Dub
  11. Run Dub
  12. I Need A Dub
  13. Why Cry Dub
  14. Nice And Easy Dub
  15. New Name Dub
  16. No More Will I Roam Dub
  17. Jah I Dub
  18. Kutchi Dub
  19. Weepimg Dub
  20. I Heart Is Clean Dub
  21. Tenement Yard Dub
  22. Sufferation Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

Winston Holness, a man known throughout the reggae world as Niney The Observer who has made his mark as a performer of some note is perhaps more widely acknowledged for his skills as an engineer and producer. He started his career in the sixties when he studied the art of engineering from under the expert tuition of Lee Perry and Lynford Anderson (aka Andy Capp). He later supervised numerous sessions for illustrious producers such as Bunny Lee and Joe Gibbs prior to launching his career as an independent producer at the end of the decade. The single 'Blood And Fire' (the dub is present on this album) was his first major breakthrough issued on his Observer label. The single sold over 30,000 copies on the island alone and was later named 'Jamaican record of the Year' for 1971.
Over the next years Niney regularly supervised recording sessions at Dynamic, Randy's, Channel One and Joe Gibbs studios, releasing excellent sides by artists such as Max Romeo, Delroy Wilson and Ken Boothe. However, his most enduring productions during that period were those he did with Dennis Brown. This superb collection features nuff nuff Dennis Brown dubs : Smile Dub, Here I Come Dub, So Long Dub, Travelling Man Dub, You're No Good Dub, Cassandra Dub, No More Will I Roam Dub, and Tenement Yard Dub. Other vocalists featured here are Big Youth, Horace Andy and a young Michael Rose with Dinner Dub, the dub cut to 'Gues Who Is Coming To Dinner'.
The way in which all songs have been given a dub treatment can be qualified as one that allows plenty of space around the instruments and voice as they fade in and out the mix. The backing is provide by the Soul Syndicate band, one of Jamaica's leading instrumental groups of the period. By the mid-seventies the core of the band comprised of George 'Fully' Fullwood on bass, guitarists Chinna Smith and Gitsy Willis, Santa or Sly Dunbar on drums and either Bernard 'Touter' Harvey or Keith Sterling on keyboards, with their sound often augmented by percussionist Sticky and a horns section featuring Bobby Ellis on trumpet and saxophonists Tommy McCook and Dean Fraser. The tracks were mixed by such leading engineers as Errol Thompson, Carlton Lee, Lynford Anderson and the legendary King Tubby.
'Niney Present Dub' is a top quality selection of 70's dub, an essential and must buy album !

Teacher & Mr. T.