My Time
Norris Man
Blaqk Sheep Music & Loud Disturbance Records
Digital Release
September 8, 2014

Track list
  1. Interlude
  2. Give Praise
  3. Chances
  4. I Pray feat. Busy Signal
  5. Music
  6. Moved On feat. Saine
  7. My Time
  8. Giver Of Life
  9. Others
  10. Badmind
  11. Revolution
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Since the release of his debut set "Persistence" in 2000, Norris Man has delivered about 13 full length albums for which he has worked with various producers such as Colin 'Iley Dread' Levy, Colin McGregor, Byron Murray, Lustre Kings, Partillo Productions and Romain 'Sherkhan' Chiffre. Putting out 5 albums in the past two years or so, it's obvious that 2012-13 has been the most prolific period in Norris Man's career. This is truly remarkable, especially because he hadn't released an album since 2008 and there were also no signs of increasing popularity.

Anyway, Norris Man continues his run with the release of "My Time", the follow up to the late last year released "Mystical Journey", his second album for Sweden based production house Nordic Steel Entertainment. For his brand new album the singjay has teamed up with both Blaqk Sheep Music and Loud Disturbance Records. Although Norris Man surely is a great talent, he has lacked consistency with his album releases. While albums like "Persistence", "Home & Away" and "Know The Road" made a very good impression, too many others didn't. Unfortunately, even after a few listens, this "My Time" set also fails to impress. Of course, there are a few real good tunes around including "Give Praise", "Chances", "Others" and "Badmind", which comes across the "Heavenless aka Entertainment" riddim, but that's not enough to make this collection of tunes a totally satisfying project. In particular tracks like "Music", the Sizzla-esque "Giver Of Life" and "Revolution" are weak efforts, not worth hearing over and over again. These tunes even make you think that you're listening to an up and coming artist who is trying to develop a style of his own.

In terms of quality, "My Time" stays far away from Norris Man's best album releases. Nuff said!!