Album review
No More Heartaches
VP Records-Walboomers Music
24 - 10 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. You Make My Day
  2. I'd Rather
  3. He Aint Heavy He's My Brother
  4. Love Me Forever feat. Nadine Sutherland
  5. No More Heartaches
  6. World Peace
  7. What About Me
  8. God Bless Whoever Sent You
  9. This Heart
  10. Gun Town
  11. Her Love
  12. Rude Boy
  13. Let True Love
  14. Special Kind Of Light
  15. Cha Cha feat. Flourgon
  16. Ghetto Fabulous feat. Sensi
  17. Love & Unity
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Sweet-voiced Kevin Anthony Jackson, better known as Sanchez, cut his first sides in the second half of 1987. Already at the beginning of the following year he managed to become the number one singer of love songs in reggae music, underlined by the release of two fine albums : "Loneliness" and "Sweetest Girl". In a short period of time Sanchez became extremely popular amongst the - mainly female - reggae fans and broke big in the U.K. where every single release seemed to be a guarenteed chartbuster. The fans loved him, but there were also many others who underrated his skill and talents because of his singing so many cover songs, which actually resulted in the not so flattering title "King Of Cover". However, throughout his more than one decade spanning career Sanchez has unmistakably made clear that he is also capable of delivering fine self-penned songs, lovers songs as well as reality tunes such as the excellent "South Africa". His latest 17 track release is a nice blend of lovers "You Make My Day", "Love Me Forever" an excellent combination with Nadine Sutherland, "Let True Love", "Special Kind Of Light" and it's DJ version "Cha Cha" featuring Flourgon who has been always a great combination partner for Sanchez, covers like the Luther Vandross "I'd Rather", the Hollies "He Ain't Heavy He's My Brother", the Belltones titletrack of this album, "What About Me", and Mr.Doo produced "Her Love" with vocoder(!), self-penned anti-war and violence songs current single "World Peace", "Gun Town" and "Rude Boy" a superb relick of Bob Marley and the Wailers' "Soul Rebel as well as album closing ballad "Love & Unity". The tunes here are produced by longtime musical collaborators Lloyd Campbell who is responsable for 8 tracks, Dean Fraser, who did 6 tunes, Mr. Doo, Oniel Clark and Jason Sterling. Musicians on board include Mafia & Fluxy, Sly Dunbar, Robbie Lyn, Donald Dennis, Mikey Chung, Dean Fraser, and others. The combination of swell arrangements, strong material, and Sanchez' voice make "No More Heartaches" another excellent album from reggae's top crooner.