Album review
Not My Style
Oliver Smart
Island Music

Tracking list

  1. Not My Style
  2. Old Friends
  3. I Don't Believe It
  4. Ez Grove
  5. Whisper In My Ear
  6. Tell Me How Long
  7. Not My Style - One
  8. Wish It Would Be
  9. I Don't Believe It
  10. Only One Girl
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Oliver Smart was born in Port Antonio, Jamaica and moved to California some 14 years ago. In Jamaica he started making music as recreation in a revival church across the street from his home. He later joined a singing group called 'Sing Out Port Antonio' and soon became lead vocalist of the group. In California he learned to play keyboards and became a professional song writer, composer and recording artist.
'Not My Style' is his ten track debut album, filled with melodic and uplifting reggae tunes, skillfully backed by Oliver Smart and Victor Owens. The album as a whole makes a good impression and his vocal delivery somehow reminds me of Pat Kelly and Tinga Stewart. Most of the songs are self penned tunes, but for Tell Me How Long the 'Rougher Yet' riddim has been used. The album features a fine instrumental tune, Ez Grove across the bassline of 'Swing Easy' and two instrumental versions, not dubs, of the songs Not My Style and I Don't Believe It. The aforementioned tune Not My Style is one of the best tunes here, whilst Old Friends and Wish It Would Be are standout tracks.
'Not My Style ' is a promising debut set.

Teacher & Mr. T.