Nubian Star
2 Of A Kind
Upstairs Music
March 11 - 2005

Track list
  1. One Perfect Love
  2. Another Friday
  3. Waiting Soul
  4. Let Jah Arise
  5. The Onus Is On Me
  6. It's All In You
  7. Nubian Star
  8. Love Will Never change
  9. One Life To Live
  10. She Was A Bright Young Girl
  11. The Struggle Isn't Over Yet
  12. Thou Art Worthy
  13. I Shall Overcome
  14. I'll Never Ever Give Up
  15. Walk With Me
  16. Jah Must Be Obeyed
  17. Another Friday feat. Determine
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
2 Of A Kind, a duo formed by Shane and Shawn Stephens, have delivered a decent debut album filled with rootsy, conscious and spiritual music. The approach of the duo and its producer C. Danny Breakenridge is quite simple... take mostly tried and trusted classic riddims for instant recognition and create lyrics, melody and arrangements in your own style. Thus we're treated to new songs that are backed by well played refurnished versions of Marcia Griffiths' "Feel Like Jumping", Bob Andy's "Unchained", Jackie Mittoo's "Drum Song", The Heptones' "I Shall Be Released", Alton Ellis' "I'm Just A Guy" and "Breaking Up (Is Hard To Do)", to name a few. The tunes featured on this album touch a variety of themes including matters of the heart, reality and spiritual praise. It's truly a joy to listen to the majority of the tracks, not least because Shane and Shawn show that they can write real good songs. Standout tracks include "Wailing Soul", "Love Will Never Change", "Thou Art Worthy" and "The Struggle Isn't Over Yet".