October 10, 2010

Track list
  1. Steer The Way
  2. Dredlove
  3. Close My Eyes
  4. I'm So Broke
  5. Shot Of Love
  6. Some Say (Feat. Mike From Og)
  7. Melody
  8. No Easy Way Out
  9. Offshore
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Lead singer and guitar player Vincent Tonk from Dutch reggae band Offshore was so nice to send us their latest album for review. We never heard of this Dutch reggae band but were pleasantly surprised by their music. It is a nice and smooth mixture of good arrangements and steady drum 'n' bass lines all packed up in nice sing-a-long songs. They have a certain roughness in their songs which we can't really compare to any other band at the moment. Been a long time since we've heard something nice and new like this.

Having a diverse cultural background containing a lead singer from Auruba, a Dutch drummer, a Polish piano player, an Indian backing vocalist, a Dutch saxophone player and an Indian bass player, they are all well rounded musicians. They describe their music as "Reggae with a rock attitude". After their well received debut album "Challenge My Nature" in 2009, this is their second full length album and it is definitely worth some airplay! The mood is sunny, relaxed and easy going with the top songs being Steer The Way and I'm So Broke.

So if you're into no-nonsense good time reggae, check out this album!