Album review
Old School New School
Daddy Freddy & The Rootsman
Third Eye Music

Tracking list

  1. Keeping A Session
  2. No Carbon
  3. Back Pon Dem Case
  4. Worldwide Pollution
  5. The Snake The Rat
  6. God Come First
  7. Imitator
  8. Wa Do Dem
  9. Where Were You
  10. Hot Gal Only
  11. Fatal Attraction
  12. Heathen
  13. Back Pon Dem Case (Remix By Strongpoint)
  14. Wa Do Dem (Remix By Nigel Parker)
  15. No Carbon (Remix By Landau)
  16. Heathen (Remix By Strongpoint)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4

Daddy Freddy was born in Trenchtown, Kingston 12, Jamaica in 1965. His first recording "Zoo Party" on a demented cut of the Sleng Teng riddim, was released on the Studio One imprint in 1985. He cut his musical teeth alongside Tenor Saw, Nitty Gritty, Yami Bolo, and Junior Reid on Sugar Minott's Youthman Promotion Sound System. By the middle of 1986, Freddy had six top ten hits on the Jamaican charts, but it was in 1987 when he linked up with Asher D for the groundbreaking "Raggamuffin Hip Hop" on the Music Of Life label, that he became an international star. Collaborations with household names like Frankie Paul, Supercat, Cypress Hill and Heavy D followed, as well as solo hit tunes like 'Haul And Pull Up", "Pain Killa", "Ragga House" and "The Crown", plus albums like "Stress" and "RaggaMuffin Soldier". After these hectic years he decided to take a break for a while. At the end of the 90's he found himself back in the UK, where he hooked up with the producer of his current album. They cut some groundbreaking dubplates and in 1999 they decided to cut an album together.
The result is the album "Old School New School" that contains 12 original cuts and 4 dance remixes. The tunes found here range from ragga/dancehall to roots. The dancehall cuts are raw, explosive, and past faced masterpieces of the world fastest rapper (508 syllables a minute !). Also included is a fantastic roots tune across Bob Marley's "Heathen" riddim. The most noteworthy tracks on the album are the impressive reality tune No Carbon, WorldWide Pollution, which features a throbbing bass line, the hectic tune The Snake And The Rat, the instant classic Imitator and Fatal Attraction.
Wicked, aggressive and bruising album !

Teacher & Mr. T.