Bobby O'Luge
Last Gang Records
June 21, 2009

O'Luge - Movements Track list
  1. Istanbul
  2. Christie Street
  3. Coming Back
  4. Mexico Dub
  5. Journey
  6. Kingsmen
  7. Chanson D'Amour
  8. Lisbon
  9. Pamell Street
  10. Shepherd's Bush
  11. Borderline
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Bobby O'Luge (Jeffrey A. Holdip) has been an international touring live sound engineer for eighteen years. His first album -- 'Hard End / The O'Luge Sessions' -- was well received as he used his experience to deliver an interesting dub album, featuring the talents of some of Canada's best musicians such as Cha Cha Rebble, Dahlia Anderson, Wyz Malcolm and Charles Sinclair.

Once again Bobby O'Luge takes the musical creations of Wyz Malcolm and the result is the follow up album 'Movements'. It sees more of the man's qualities as a producer, engineer and musician. Istanbul is an easy going, laid back instrumental, nothing more, nothing less, but still enjoyable. More interesting is Christie Street, a fine compelling roots tune. The tune Coming Back doesn't fail to make a decent impression with Citizin Cope delivering his mesmerizing vocals across a solid roots tune, while Mexico Dub is a surprising reworking of Ken Boothe's 'Silver Words' inna a mild drum and bass style. Good job!

Borderline is built around electric guitar solos... not our cup of tea. Then there's dub poet Peculiar I's contribution on the jazzy track Lisbon where he reminds us of dub poets like Michael Smith and Linton Kwesi Johnson. Kingsmen lacks tension and power, and Shepherd's Bush is a loungy smooth conscious tune.

A nice album for lazy Sunday afternoons.