Album review
One Atonement
I Grade Records
August 27, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Rise
  2. Wadada
  3. Gratitude
  4. Light
  5. Best Thing featuring Pressure
  6. Things They Do
  7. Chant Out featuring Abja
  8. Warfare
  9. One Atonement
  10. Roman Soldiers
  11. Mama Love
  12. Babylon Toy
  13. Mosiah Chant featuring Marcus Mosiah Garvey
  14. Rise in Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Since its emergence early 2001 I Grade Records - founded in St. Croix in the U.S. Virgin Islands by Laurent "Tippy" Alfred along with partner Kenyatta Itola - has produced refreshing and high quality roots reggae music, brought to the reggae massive through the label's wicked compilation set "Weep Not" and six solid to excellent album releases from extremely talented artists such as Dezarie, Abja, and the superb Midnite band. The production team of I Grade Records proves to have a keen ear for exciting new talent as can be witnessed by listening to the works of Yahadanai (pronounced YAH dah nai). Introduced to the world through his collaboration with Abja on the album "Inna Red I Hour", young singjay Yahadanai now delivers his much anticipated debut album "One Atonement". Even though Yahadanai doesn't hail from the Virgin Islands (he comes from Guyana and now resides in Harlem, NYC), I Grade's distinctive deep roots sound is ever-present. The combination of I Grade's sound and Yahadanai's vocal style and lyrical delivery works very well and has led to an outstanding collection of tunes. This set offers pure, righteous roots from beginning to end, a real joy to listen to as it inspires and uplifts. "One Atonement" is an amazing debut album from an artist who shows nuff potential to break big on the modern roots scene. All tracks keep you involved and are good in their own right. Our musical choice cuts here are the meditative "Rise", the uptempo "Wadada" with its beautiful horn parts, the awesome "Best Thing", the fiery "Things They Do", the wicked "Warfare", the absolute killer "One Atonement", and the wonderful acoustic "Babylon Toy".
I Grade Records and Yahadanai have released one of the best and most exciting roots albums of the year. Highly recommended!!

Check out the website for more info and/or to purchase this cd :
I Grade Records

Teacher & Mr. T.