Album review
One Calling
Morgan Heritage

Tracking list

  1. One bingi man
  2. Come and arise
  3. One calling
  4. Prison cell
  5. Trodding to Zion
  6. Down with you
  7. Wicked seeking hiding place
  8. Give we a licence (featuring Denroy Morgan)
  9. God is God
  10. Oh Israel
  11. Goodbye
  12. Warning to wicked man
  13. Why do we
  14. Coming home
  15. Iziz to Jah
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Born in New York, Morgan Heritage consists of five of the 29 children of Denroy Morgan, former lead vocalist of the Black Eagles - lead vocalists Una, aged 25, Peter, 23, Gramps, 24, (who also plays the keyboards), rhythm guitarist Lukes, 21, and percussionist Mr. Mojo who is 19.
On Morgan Heritage's third album "One Calling" the band showcases it's unique style by blending modern production values with upful message tunes. Their previous quality album "Protect us Jah" for Bobby "Digital" Dixon was one of the most-talked about reggae best-sellers, This is yet another album to prove that Morgan Heritage plays a crucial role in the roots resurgance of the last years. Produced by one of the most experienced producers, King Jammy, (except for "One Bingi Man" produced by Trevor James) and with backing by Steelie & Clevie, Mafia & Fluxy, Danny Browne, Jazwad, Dean Fraser, Donald Dennis and members of the band, "One Calling" impeccably captures the vibrations of the Rastafari movement.
The hard driven roots riddims, including some of King Jammy's earlier riddims, in combination with the R&B style vocals are the solid foundation for all tracks. It's a pleasure to hear them singing, they really sound like a band. If you liked "Protect us Jah" then this set will not dissapoint you and leave you hungry for more, and for those who are not familair with this band, this album is just the perfect introduction !

Teacher & Mr. T.