Album review
One In A Million
J. J. Sparks
Altara International
30- 09 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. One In A Million
  2. If I Had The World
  3. I Am Gonna Be Strong
  4. Endlessley
  5. Let It Be Me
  6. Hold Me My Girl
  7. Do You Feel My Love
  8. My Ship Is Coming In
  9. You Keep Me Hanging On
  10. I Am Calling
  11. Wanna Make Love To You
  12. I Love You Just The Same
  13. Should I
  14. My Baby Has Gone
  15. Waiting In Vain
  16. Any Day Now
  17. You Have Changed
  18. Ain't That Loving You
  19. Equal Rights
  20. Push Wood In The Fire
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

JJ Sparks was born in Kingston and was musically orientated from a very tender age of five. Later he began singing as a quartette with Carl Dawkins, Rudy Mills and Keith Sterling at various venues around Jamaica. . In 1964 he emigrated to the UK. He went in the army and took up singing after after he had left the army. He toured the UK and Europe extensively and when he met A.J. Franklin of the Chosen Few he decide to cut the album "One In A Million' on his own Altara label.
The album is a collection of original tunes and covers. Besides remakes of the Dennis Brown tunes If I Had The World, Equal Rights and Should I you'll find here a nice remake of Bob Marley's Waiting In Vain. He also reworks Dobby Dobson's classic tear jerker Endlessly. He also delivers covers of soul and pop tunes from the 60s and the 70s such as Let It Be Me, I Am Gonna Be Strong, You Keep Me hanging On, and Any Day Now.
"One In A Million" is more or less an album for the mature reggae fan, who isn't any more into hardcore dancehall and roots music.

Teacher & Mr. T.