Album review
One Way, Jah Way
Michael Fabulous
Nubean Records
October 3 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Hush Nuh Baby Mother
  2. Rise With Sun feat. Powerman
  3. Ghetto Youth Get Wise
  4. Jah With The Whip
  5. One Way
  6. Render Some Assistance
  7. Starting Over New
  8. Full Time Now
  9. No Mercy
  10. Marcus, His Story
  11. Hit The Chart
  12. Full Time Now (Rub A Dub)
  13. One Way (Accapella)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

Michael Fabulous was born Lansfield Clarke in the Parish of St. Mary, in the hills of a small district called Free Hill. He did his first recording, a lovers song titled "Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow", for an Ocho Rios based producer in 1987. Michael moved to Kingston in 1991 to get a real feel of the music business. Since then he has been working with various producers in order to establish his name. His life's motto is "never give up" and that's what he has been doing all these years. And now here's "One Way, Jah Way", a solid album that serves up a good selection of Michael Fabulous tunes. Riddims are laid by Firehouse Crew, Danny "Axeman" Thompson and renowned musicians and production duo Steely & Clevie, and include revitalized versions of classics such as "I'm In The Mood" ("Rise With Sun"), "I'm Just A Guy" ("Full Time Now"), "Hypocrites" ("No Mercy") and "Mr. Bassie" ("Hit The Chart"). Furthermore this set also has some wicked fresh riddims. Best tracks are the title track "One Way", the lovers song "Starting Over New", the cultural piece "Marcus, His Story" and the awesome "Hit The Chart".
"One Way, Jah Way" provides a good taste of Michael Fabulous' singing and songwriting ability, a conscious-minded singer who deserves to be heard.

Teacher & Mr. T.