Album review
Only Love Can Conquer
Prince Alla
Blood & Fire

Tracking list

  1. Stone
  2. I don't want to be late
  3. Only love can conquer
  4. Sun is shining
  5. They never love (disco style)
  6. Lot's wife
  7. Bucket bottom
  8. Mama no fight
  9. City without pity
  10. Lady deceiver
  11. Youthman in the ghetto (disco style)
  12. Black rose (with Philip Fraser)
  13. Their reward
  14. Dread locks nazarine
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

Prince Alla is regarded as one of the true heroes of Jamaican roots music. During the late sixties he recorded some tracks for Joe Gibbs, being a vocalist in the Leaders. After recording a few titles for several labels, he joined Bertram Brown's Freedom Sounds label in 1975, together with Earl Zero, Sammy Dread. Philip Frazer, Milton Henry and Brent Dowe. The Soul Syndicate band played most of the (almost exclusively) original riddims. His most essential recordings were done during that period. In the eighties Prince Alla would record infrequently, and recently he has cut some tracks for the son of C.S. Dodd. Most tracks on "Only Love Can Conquer" were produced by Bertram Brown, recorded at Channel One and mixed by King Tubby and Scientist. The Revolutionaries play the riddims on tracks 13 and 14, while Soul Syndicate provides the backing on the other tracks. It's hard to point out outstanding tracks on this essential collection, but "Stone" , "Bucket Bottom" , "Youthman in the ghetto" and "Their reward" are four of the best tracks !

Teacher & Mr. T.