Album review
Open The Door
Gregory Isaacs
May 29, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Forgive Her
  2. Margaret
  3. She's Gone
  4. Have I Sinned
  5. If By Chance
  6. False Evidence
  7. Never Knew Love
  8. Open The Door
  9. Promise Me
  10. Down The Line
  11. Josephine
  12. Same Time
  13. Same Time Dub
  14. Josephine In Dub
  15. Dub The Line
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Jah Tooth, Hitler, Lonely Lover or simply Cool Ruler are just some of the nicknames of the rude boy of reggae, the prolific Gregory Isaacs. The latter has ruled the reggae market with distinction for three decades and more. Even though his instantly recognizable voice isn't on par with the one that brought him into the forefront of reggae music in the early 1980s, when he was at the height of his considerable powers, he's still one of the most popular reggae artists in the world. It's the singer's ability to adapt his lazy, crooning singing style from lovers ballads through to roots and beyond, that makes that he has a strong appeal on women and men alike. Thus he secures his position as one of the most beloved Jamaican singing stars around. Now the Cool Ruler of Reggae returns with a brand new collection of tunes titled "Open the Door". Skeptics will look at this album with a raised eyebrow no doubt, as most of Gregory's releases over the past ten years or so didn't live up to expectations. However, this one does. These new recordings pair him with noted producers, musicians and riddim kings Mafia & Fluxy. The latter, accompanied by a stellar horn section consisting of Henry "Buttons" Tenue and Brian Edwards, have laid some real wicked, full and rich "live" riddims. It's Mafia's heavy bass and melodic piano/organ along with Fluxy's drums and perpetual percussion and on top some great horns that provide the perfect sound and vibe for Gregory's vocal and lyrical delivery. Of course, most of the tunes featured on this cd is romantic stuff, delivered in Gregory Isaacs' well known style. But besides that we're also treated to convincing efforts dealing with reality like e.g. majestic tracks like "Down The Line" and the awesome "Same Time". When it comes to lovers songs you'll find standouts like "Have I Sinned", "Margaret", "Never Know Love" and "Promise Me". Also the Gussie P mixed dub versions, including the killer "Same Time Dub", are worth of hearing.
Pretty sure that Gregory Isaacs fans want to pick up this one.

Teacher & Mr. T.