Album review
Original Ragga Muffin [1975-77]
Jah Stitch
Blood & Fire

Tracking list

  1. Give Jah the glory
  2. African people (3 in 1)
  3. Ragga muffin style
  4. Zion gate/Every wicked have to crawl (featuring Horace Andy)
  5. Watch your step youthman
  6. Crazy Joe
  7. No dread can't dead
  8. Sinners repent your soul
  9. Judgement
  10. Militant man
  11. Real born African
  12. Cool down youthman
  13. African queen
  14. King of the arena
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

"No dread can't dead" - This Blood & Fire compilation collects Jah Stitch's foundation classics from the mid-seventies for producers Bunny "Striker" Lee and Yabby You. This is roots and culture at its best, with Jah Stitch chatting over songs from some of the strongest singers of the '70s on cool and deadly rockers riddims laid down by the Aggrovators. Among others this album includes Johnny Clarke's "Roots, natty roots, natty congo" (Real born African) & "Crazy baldhead" (which gets two versions : Watch your step youthman and the only not cultural song on this album Crazy Joe), Horace Andy's "Money money" (Ragga muffin style) and Linval Thompson's "Cool down your temper" (Cool down youthman.) If you want to hear the roots of today's deejay style this album serves you well. This is a treasure for your musical pleasure....essential, wicked and wild !

Teacher & Mr. T.