1 Rebel
Sharpnote Records
September 24, 2007

O-shen - 1 Rebel Track list
  1. 1 Rebel
  2. Girls feat. Elephant man
  3. Ku Mai
  4. Beautiful Island Princess
  5. Peace And Love
  6. Babylon Dread feat. Bunny Rugs
  7. Run Away
  8. Aiwara
  9. Revolutionary Souljahs
  10. Legalize The Herb
  11. Neva Seen A Ghetto
  12. Jah Knows feat. Don Carlos
  13. Lady Lover
  14. Anapanapa
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
O-Shen is one of the first artists of which there was almost no information of about his past. The only thing I found out is that he is a great singer with roots in Papua, New Guinea, creating music from a Pacific Islander perspective. He now calls Hawaii his home. I didn't know what to expect from this album. But it's a mix of all kinds of music. Reggae, Lovers, Dancehall, some Hip-Hop and Reggaeton but also easy listening songs with only guitar backings. I don't know if it's wise to release an album with so many different styles of music.

1 Rebel the first track and also the title of this album, is a nice tune with strong lyrics. Girls, the dancehall tune with Elephant Man, has a sweet island vibe. This is one of the things you really notice while listening to this album, you keep hearing the island music instruments. Aiwara brings forward the nice voice O-Shen has, combined with a track like this it's a real pleasure to listen to. Revolutionary Soldiers and Legalize The Herb, the latter over the swinging "Nine Eleven" riddim, are 2 gems on the album. Other tracks worth checking out are Run Away and the combination tune Jah Knows. Don Carlos makes a great team with O-Shen and their voices fit together perfectly. Two relaxing island vibed songs (Lady Lover and Anapanapa are featured at the end of the album. All in all there are some good tunes on this album but I don't know if all those different styles will apply to a big audience.

Anyone outside the beautiful island of Hawaii should definitely give this album a try.