Over The Years: The Underground Project
Asante Amen
High Priest Records
Digital Release (Free Download)
August 25, 2011

Asante Amen Track list
  1. Intro
  2. Save Dem JAH
  3. Not 4 Sale
  4. Peace & Love
  5. Mek Mi Rich
  6. Getting Enough?
  7. Never Get Away
  8. My Empress
  9. I'm Sorry
  10. Interlude
  11. Ready Fi Di Gideon
  12. Nuh Fraid feat. Lutan Fyah
  13. More Fyah feat. Jah Thundah
  14. See the Hands Dem
  15. Foundation
  16. Let's Unite
  17. Live Together feat. Singing Vernon
  18. Keep Holding On
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 1-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 6
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Asante Amen, born Gavin Walters, began performing at his local church, school, fetes, birthday parties and weddings at the age of 12. In his pursuit of stardom Asante Amen joined three different harmony groups during his teenage years, but each one eventually disintegrated and this forced the young singer to become a solo act in 2001. It turned out to be a positive move for him as in 2002 Asante Amen released his debut single entitled "Ras Tafari's Love" on the One Drop Music label. The single received mild attention in the Caribbean and in North America and resulted in him doing two performances in the Bahamas in the summer of that same year with Tony Rebel, Queen Ifrica and others. This was followed by more performances in Jamaica that same year, the most notable being a New Years Eve concert in Montego Bay (performing on the same bill with artists such as Beenie Man, Ken Boothe and Bob Andy), where he was well received by the audience.

After he had pursued a post graduate degree in Health psychology at a prominent university in England in 2004, he returned to Jamaica and released a few singles. These included "Party Time" (Levetie Productions), "Only Rastafari" (Street Kid Productions), 'Save them Jah" (Triple T Productions), and "Live Together" (Outta Town Records), with the last mentioned singles getting moderate airplay both in Jamaica and abroad. He has also graced the Jamaican stage since his return to the Island by being the opening act at Natty King's Album launch (April, 2005), and was one of the artists slated to perform on the 60th birthday celebration of Bob Marley's life in February 2005. However his most treasured appearance was at the coveted Rebel Salute in January 2006. At this event Asante Amen received an out pouring of love from the audience and he believes it has set the stage for his career as a reggae singer.

In recent times this dynamic conscious artist has released a few notable singles, including his hit song "Wipe Your Tears" (Nite Lite Productions). And now, preceding his forthcoming album, he comes up with the free downloadable "Over the Years: The Underground Project", which contains 16 vocal tracks from Asante Amen's formative years in the music business. After the accapella sung "Intro", things get started with already familiar tracks like the wicked "Save Dem JAH" and the matching "Not 4 Sale", which are followed by the solid "Peace & Love", the great "Mek Mi Rich" and the real nice lovers song "Getting Enough?". With these songs, and also the remaining tunes on this album, Asante Amen shows that he's a singer with a powerful voice, whose lyrical delivery is above par. Other tracks also worth hearing are "Never Get Away", "I'm Sorry", "Ready Fi Di Gideon", "Keep Holding On", and the collaboration with Singing Vernon called "Live Together".

To download a copy of Asante Amen's album Over The Years: The Underground Project, go to: www.highpriestrecords.weebly.com