Outta Road
VP Records-Walboomers Music
December 1, 2005

Track list
  1. Liquor
  2. Another One
  3. Tek Time
  4. Your Time
  5. Telephone Ting
  6. The Letter
  7. Fake
  8. Baby Song
  9. We Nah Go
  10. Where Is My Girl
  11. Gimme Back
  12. My Best Day
  13. T Spot
  14. Peace
  15. Mix Up
  16. Tun U Roll
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Even though he started to get worldwide attention in the last 12 months -- due to scoring hits with tunes such as "Baby Song", "Liquor", "Telephone Ting" and "The Letter", all included on this "Outa Road" album -- dancehall singer Kiprich is no newcomer on the dancehall scene. Born Marlon Plunkett in Jamaica's St. Catherine parish, he originally utilized the moniker Crazy Kid when he started working out with Jack Scorpio and Danny Brownie of the "Main Street" label in the late nineties. Shortly after he had exchanged Crazy Kid for Kiprich he released his first successful single called "Leggo Di Bwoy" on the Stone Cold label in 1999. Since then he has been very prolific, releasing more than 200 singles (solo and inna combination stylee) for a variety of producers including Sheldon "Calibud" Stewart, Richard "Shams" Browne, Louis "Flabba" Malcolm, Chad "Goofy" Simpson, Preston Onfroy, Harvel "Gaddafi" Hart, Marlon Cooke, and Computer Paul. "Imagine This", "All Ladies", "Cut Him Off", "I Swear", "Bad Man No Switch", 'Hair Match", "Me A Di Man" and "Waste" are just a few titles from his extensive singles catalogue.

Since he released his first single -- and then coming to many dancehall fans' attention as Elephant Man's sideman -- Kiprich has developed into an artist who is able to bounce between boisterous dancehall toasting and smooth crooning, as can be witnessed while listening to this album. Thus we're treated to an accomplished and well varied collection of tunes, which makes this an entertaining and enjoyable debut set to listen to. Also praiseworthy is the lack of guest vocalists and obvious plays for crossover fame. This has almost become a common practice when record companies release (debut) albums of very talented and international successful Jamaican artists, which in most cases leads to disappointing results. Luckily Robert Livingston and the Big Yard Production Crew -- with whom Kiprich has linked up -- have chosen another road for this young dancehall artist.

It's obvious Kiprich is at his best when riding dancehall riddims like "Sleepy Dog", "Military", "Applause", "El Toro", and "Tap Dance". On the other hand he also shows his ability to deliver above par one-drop cuts, with of course "Telephone Ting" being the pick of this particular crop, which furthermore includes its answer version "The Letter" -- following the main character from "Telephone Ting" as he is forced to write love letters to his mistress since his lady broke his phone -- and "Peace", a very nice reggae tune with a wailing cry for "peace inna de island".

However, the majority of the tracks on this album are pure dancehall bashment outings, with tunes like "Liquor", "Tek Time", "We Nuh Go", "Baby Song", (on which he pokes fun at dancehall music's biggest names), "Mix Up" and "My Best Day" being the highpoints.

Kiprich, who shows he has a rich sense of humor and a storytelling style reminiscent of Slick Rick, has the potential the establish himself as a leading force in the dancehall fraternity and this pleasing "Outta Road" will surely help him further 'on the road'.