Album review
More Love
Prince Alla
Jah Warrior

Tracking list

  1. More Love
  2. Don't Run Away
  3. Children Of Jericho
  4. Writing On The Wall
  5. Sun Is Shining
  6. Jonah
  7. I Hear A Voice
  8. So Much Souls To Save
  9. Open The Gate
  10. Early This Morning
  11. Good Morning Africa
  12. Sensimilia
  13. Our Father
  14. Don't Cry
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The legendary Prince Alla, born Keith Blake, 1950, Kingston Jamaica, began his recording career in the early seventies in Jamaica. A deeply spiritual artist with a highly individual style, he has worked with producers like Tappa Zukie, Bertram Brown, Joe Gibbs and others, recording classics like "Cities", "Stone", "Daniel", "Rastafari", "Bucket Bottom", "Their Reward", "Funeral" and "Bosrah." In recent years he has produced an album for leading UK sound system Jah Shaka, and also a compilation of classic revive material for the Blood and Fire label. "Glory," his first album for London based Jah Warrior Records, was released in 2000, whilst Blood & Fire are soon to re-release "Heaven Is My Roof," his Tappa Zukie-produced first album. Prince Alla returned to London in late 2001 to record these brand new tracks with noted London roots producer, Jah Warrior. Under the guidance of Steve "Jah Warrior" Mosco, who clearly has an innate feel for roots & culture music, Prince Alla delivers a worthy successor to "Glory". This time no "showcase style" (i.e. vocal cuts accompanied by dub versions), but just 14 straight vocal tracks. Well laid, entertaining deep roots riddims - including some very enjoyable heavy steppers - form the backbone of this set as it turns out that they are extremely cut out for Prince Alla's typical vocal and lyrical delivery. The veteran singer is in real good shape and thus we're treated to a notable, well produced album with tunes that range from solid to excellent. So, many tracks featured on this set keep you involved till the very end and are truly worth of hearing including the highlights "Don't Run Away", "Jonah", "Open The Gate", "Early This Morning", "Good Morning Africa" and "Don't Cry". The album features a live 3 piece horn section with the renowned Crispy Horns, live flute from Richard Doswell, guitar from Hughie Izachaar and Twinkle Brothers band member Jerry Lyons, drums from A. Millgate, bass, piano and organ from Steve Mosco plus percussion from the UK's premier reggae percussionist, Jonah Dan.
Prince Alla's "More Love" is a must for the roots crowd!!

Teacher & Mr. T.