Dub Roots
Prince Douglas
June 27, 2005

Track list
  1. Jam Love Dub
  2. Hard Times Dub
  3. Let Me Love You Dub
  4. Tongue Shall Tell Dub
  5. March Down Babylon Dub
  6. Sunshine Dub
  7. You And Me Dub
  8. North Of The Border Dub
  9. Tribesman Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals/Lead Instruments : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Engineer 'Prince' Douglas Levy was part of the original Wackies set up from 1974-1975, and his "Presenting ... Dub Roots" is the latest release in the string of classic Wackies albums that have been (re)released by Berlin dub-techno duo Moritz Von Oswald and Mark Ernestus a.k.a. Rhythm & Sound, as part of their rerelease program of the complete Wackie's catalog. More on their own releases, whether technodub on Basic Channel or their Rhythm & Sound label can be found at the Basic Channel Website. Alongside Lloyd Barnes and Jah Upton Douglas Levy for a while had his own label - Hamma - within the Bullwackies group, but besides Sugar Minott's "International Herb" this 1980 dub album is his finest work. Many of the riddims are derived from a tape given to Wackies by Sly & Robbie, containing their versions of recent Joe Gibbs hits. The first track on this album is "Jam Love Dub" a brilliant dub workout of Louie Lepke's 1980 "Love In A Jamdown" take on Cornell Campbell's Joe Gibbs produced "Rope In", the riddim used later for a.o. Garnett Silk's "A Man Is Just A Man", Buju Banton's "Why Buju Love You" and Sanchez' "Praise Him", followed by the as moving "Hard Times Dub", "Let Me Love You Dub" and the superb "Tongue Shall Tell Dub" that was also featured as the second part of the Wayne Jarrett take on Horace Andy's 1972 Studio One gem on the "Showcase Vol. 1 album. "March Down Babylon Dub" is the brilliant dub reworking of the biggest surprise on this album; Lloyd 'Bullwackie' Barnes under his Chosen Brothers moniker deejaying over the riddim of Steel Pulse's "Handsworth Revolution". "Sunshine Dub" is an excellent dub of the great "Sunshine People", recorded in 1980 by Zap Pow featuring Beres Hammond. "You And Me Dub", a slightly different mix of "Dread Feeling" on Rootsman Underground's "Tribesman Assault" and "North Of The Border Dub" are both classic riddims given fabulous dub treatments, before Tyrone Evans' "Black Like Me" gets reworked as "Tribesman Dub", the same riddim track as "Black Brigade" on the aforementioned Rootsman Underground album "Tribesman Assault", closing another gem from the Wackies vaults now luckily enough rereleased by Rhythm & Sound.