Album review
Peace In The East
Tounka & Friends
Alfmar Records / Bronese N.V.

Tracking list

  1. Look At The Mess He Made
  2. It's About Time
  3. Look What They've Done
  4. Say No To Drugs
  5. Look At The Mess He Made (Version)
  6. Been Mistreated
  7. Stop The Wars
  8. Lying In My Bed
  9. Don't Give Up
  10. Look What They've Done (Version)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

This album was originally released in 1991, but like the reviewed "Are You Hearing Us Now ?" from 1988, it's too good not to mention it on these pages. As usual with Tonca's releases all lyrics are printed in the booklet, which does justice to the mainly conscious lyrics (only "Lying In My Bed" is a lovers tune). The opener is a little more rock influenced than the songs on his other albums, and that feeling is continuous throughout the album. There's a little less emphasis on horns and some more on guitar s on this album, but the album maintains a roots reggae vibe. As far as I know this is Tonca's only album to include versions, and these certainly show how solid his instrumental backing by Friends is. It must be stress ed too that the constant high quality of the backing vocals are as well a component that make Tonca's albums so pleasant to listen to. I am looking forward to Tonca's forthcoming release, that's scheduled to be released real soon. Yet another very strong album by an artist you should all be checking out . I consider this album to be ranked second in the string of albums by Tonca that are reviewed on these pages. Others are the freshly reviewed " Are You Hearing Us Now ?" as well as earlier reviewed "Jah Jah Will Unite Us", "For You Only", and Tonca's latest and till now strongest release " Committed To Jah". Tonca and Bronese Recording Studio can be reached at: e-mail: bronese@megatropic.com URL: http://www.megatropic.com/~bronese/page2.html