Album review
Perfect Love
Donovan Donovan
Jamadon Production
13 - 04 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Perfect Love
  2. Rasta Living
  3. Hard For Me
  4. Rat Trap
  5. Peeping Show
  6. Juggling
  7. Profile
  8. Man From Zion
  9. Adam And Eve
  10. My Girl None Stop
  11. Young Girl
  12. Last Chance
  13. Love Me Crazy
  14. Look Over Yonder
  15. Jah King
  16. Ambition
  17. Read Your Bible
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Released in 1999, Donovan Donovan's album 'Perfect Love' is an interesting collection of some 17 tracks, delivered in his unique style, what might loosely be called 'singjay' stylee. Most tunes deal with cultural themes and his vocal delivery can best be described as enthousiastic, energetic and sometimes even highly 'inflammable'. All lyrics were written by Donovan Donovan himself and most songs are original tunes, except for Rat Trap which is an excellent song across the 'Armagiddeon Time' riddim. The 'I Need A Roof' riddim forms the basis for one of the highlights found here - Man From Zion. Most songs are dancehall orientated, but the song Young Girl is a more laid-back tune and Last Chance tackles The Drifters' classic hit tune "Save The last Dance" ! There's even an Nyahbingi influenced track here : Look Over Yonder. Although not every song is a winner, some songs are worth while pointing out : the title track Perfect Love, Read Your Bible, Peeping Show, Profile, Love Me Crazy and Ambition.

Teacher & Mr. T.