Album review
Norris Man
VP Records-Walboomers Music
14 - 02 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Intro
  2. Bad Road
  3. Persistence
  4. Undiluted Love
  5. Bright Days
  6. Heathen Pt. 1 featuring Anthony Red Rose
  7. Greatest Reward
  8. Woman Have Patience
  9. Let Jah Lead The Way
  10. It Hurts I
  11. Holy Mount Zion featuring Mykal Roze
  12. My Happiness
  13. Everliving Soul
  14. Hold On To Your Faith
  15. Persistence Remix
  16. Saxappella (Instrumental)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

With "Persistence" conscious singjay Norris Man delivers his long-awaited debut album, which actually happens to be a sort of compilation set as it predominantly collects tunes which were already available on 7" singles. This album heavily leans on the production skills of such recognised production houses as Richard Bell's "Star Trail" and Colin Levy's "King Of Kings", not a wrong starting point for a cultural artist when his main goal is to deliver quality roots-oriented reggae music.
And indeed, "Persistence" is the solid album one might expect from Norris Man and the aforementioned producers. It features enough well performed and appealing roots tunes to keep one involved till the very end. It's a real pleasure to listen to new and older tunes of one of the most promising newcomers regarding contemporary roots reggae. Songs like "Bad Road", "Undiluted Love", "Bright Days", "Great Reward", "Let Jah Lead The Way", "It Hurts I" and the title track "Persistence" deservedly get the "replay" treatment more than once. And while the combination tunes "Heathen Pt. 1" and "Holy Mount Zion" are very entertaining too, and the remaining cuts aren't bad either we actually have decided to re-play Norris Man's album on and on !! Need we say more ??!!

Teacher & Mr. T.