Album review
Can't Stop
Peter Hunnigale
Charm-Jet Star

Tracking list

  1. His Majesty's Love
  2. Rub A Dub Style
  3. Follow
  4. Living Without Your Love
  5. The Call
  6. True Loving
  7. Positive
  8. Roots & Culture
  9. Just A Little Peace
  10. Everything To Me
  11. Midnight Love
  12. I Wanna Know
  13. Pick Up The Phone
  14. I'm Busy
  15. Can't Stop
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

South London born Peter Hunnigale aka "Mr. Honey Vibes" is a versatile artist as he's not only a singer, but a gifted songwriter, musician and producer as well. Peter Hunnigale started his musical career playing bass as part of the "Vibes Corner Collective". In 1982 he released his debut single "Slipping Away/Swing And Dine", but it lasted until 1987 before he achieved his first notable success when he topped the UK reggae chart with a lovers tune entitled "Be My Lady". In that very same year he delivered his debut album "In This Time" which also proved successful. It was the beginning of the most prolific period in his career and a long line of hits followed. Thus Peter Hunnigale established himself as UK reggae's leading lovers rock exponent and throughout his career - which spans more than two decades by now - awards have been bestowed upon him, including "Best UK Reggae Vocalist". He worked with Maxi Priest, Tippa Irie, Glamma Kid, Mafia & Fluxy, Ruff Cut, Pato Banton, the late great Dennis Brown, Saxon's Musclehead and legendary Jamaican producer Augustus "Gussie" Clarke, to name but a few.
His fans had to wait quite some time for a brand new album, but now Jet Star has unveiled Mr. Honey Vibes' "Can't Stop", a 15 track album that was truly worthwhile waiting for as it is stamped with quality all over! It's obvious that Peter Hunnigale's appreciation of classic reggae and rocksteady backdrops serves to anchor his own music as can be heard throughout the entire album. It's even lyrically expressed in "Rub A Dub Style", a solid tune produced by Kenny Edgehill and Nereus Joseph for Sirius Records. The album opener - the Al Campbell produced "His Majesty's Love" - shows that this singer/songwriter, who established his reputation in the Lovers Rock idiom, is able to come up with a wonderful, spiritual tune as well. Then "Follow". Performed over a revitalized version of Prince Lincoln's "Humanity" riddim, Peter Hunnigale delivers an impressive message tune. In fact it's one of those songs featured on this album that fully express his ability to document everyday life and meanwhile also to reason about it. With tracks like the solid "Positive", the wonderful remake of his own "Roots & Culture" and the awesome "Just A Little Peace", one is treated to further examples of Peter Hunnigale's cultural side. Remain the matters of the heart, so many times vocally and lyrically brilliant expressed in his songs. Although every lovers tune on this set has its own merits and no weak effort(s) can be found, the standouts are "The Call", True Loving", "Everything To Me", "Pick Up The Phone" and "I Wanna Know".
"Can't Stop" fully highlights Peter Hunnigale's unique skills and talent, which enable him to deliver quality UK reggae music of the highest grade.

Teacher & Mr. T.