Phantom War
Lutan Fyah
May 31, 2006

Lutan Fyah - Phantom War Track list
  1. Plant A Seed (I & I)
  2. Blood Stain
  3. Wi Nuh Gangsta (Fighting For Equal Rights)
  4. Rasta Still Deh About feat. Josie Mel
  5. Phantom War
  6. Bits & Pieces
  7. Wipe Those Tears
  8. Mother Earth's Healing
  9. Screaming For The Poor
  10. U Left Me
  11. Reflections
  12. Learn The Hard Way
  13. Rich Little Ghetto Girl
  14. Bet On It
  15. This Fire
  16. Still Deh Deh
  17. Turbulent Time
  18. Snares Of Death
  19. Plant A Seed (Reprise)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Lutan Fyah, born Anthony Martin, grew up in Thompson Pen, St. Catherine, Jamaica where he was exposed to music at a very early age. Unlike many of today’s musicians, however, Lutan Fyah’s musical education did not begin in church. Instead he received proper schooling from his grandfather’s sound system and from the many artistes who used to vibe out around the sound and hone their skills in his yard. Despite his early immersion Lutan absolutely loved the game of soccer and excelled at the sport. Throughout his teenage years he represented his community, his school, and played in the national premier league for Constant Spring. His skills as a midfielder and all round soccer player are way above average and for a time, he exerted his energies in this endeavour with a good measure of success. The magnetism of music, however, proved more powerful and soon after becoming disenchanted with the sport, he followed a higher calling and decided to pursue his vision of Lutan Fyah, the music man. Determined, he made frequent visits to many of the studios around Kingston in a bid to make a name in the competitive music field. While on his journeys, he visited Buju Banton’s Gargamel studio and was chosen as a promising artiste after he passed an audition.

'Armageddon War', a single on the Gargamel Label, opened doors for him in Europe and on the West Coast of the United States, where the zealous Rastafarian chanter is particularly well loved. His 'Fling Stone' was also well received by the international reggae public and soon he became sought after by some promoters who were impressed with what they were hearing. Shortly after, in 2001, Ghetto Technologies contracted him to perform on the North West Reggae Fest in Seattle, Washington. His performance that night was so dynamic that Lutan Fyah started getting other gigs on the West Coast. Since then, he has performed all along the West Coast and has graced the stage in a number of cities along the East Coast, Bermuda and London. He did a month-long tour of Germany; additionally, he had the opportunity to perform in Austria and Switzerland, much to the delight of his fans. More recently, in November 2004, he toured France. He has voiced tunes for labels such as Xterminator, Jah Warrior, Mac D and Lustre Kings. The latter company puts out his long-awaited Lustre Kings album entitled "Time and Place". The Lustre Kings camp is known for its dedication to releasing strictly roots and culture and keeping the righteous message in the forefront. Producers involved here are Lustre King's house producer Digital Ancient, as well as Zion High and Dr. X. He released his first set, 'Dem No Know Demself', in 2004. This masterful debut was followed by the equally impressive 'Time And Place' which was released the following year. With these two fine albums he has made a name for himself in the reggae community.

Now he comes up with the album 'Phantom War' which comprises several tunes he recorded for various producers from Jamaica and elsewhere. The latter being Ingo Rheinbay out of Cologne, for whom Lutan voiced Bits & Pieces across Pow Pow's "Blaze" riddim. The album opener, Plant A Seed (I & I) is a pure acoustic ballad, which is also used as the final reprise, thus closing the circle.

It's known that Lutan knows his way around with both cultural and lovers themes. The album offers a nice blend of different musical styles and themes. In most cases such a format results in too much filler tunes, but not here. The list of top songs is long. Screaming For the Poor is voiced across Kemar McGregor's "Triumphant" riddim, while Wipe Those Tears is a chillin' and powerful tune. This track can also be found on the excellent album 'Conscious Rasta : Clean Heart And Love Part 3'. For the romantic side of Lutan do check out his rendition of "The Ruler" riddim Rich Little Ghetto Girl and U Left Me, both topnotch efforts. Very impressive is Wi Nuh Gangsta (Fighting For Equal Rights), a strong anti-gangsta anthem. The tune Turbulent Time is a solid effort voiced over the "Rasta Pickney" riddim. From a commercial point of view Greensleeves Records have included Rasta Still Deh Bout the hit song with Josie Mel. It easily may become one of the favorite tracks on the album.

The album includes a nice bonus video track (Rasta Still Deh Bout), nice photos and excellent musicians and producer credits. We wish more companies would do the same.

Lutan Fyah is moving from strength to strength... could this become album of the year???