Phenomenal 11
Guiding Star Muzik-Alpha Enterprise
October 22, 2005

Track list
  1. Stand Firm
  2. Peace Of Mind
  3. A Yu Mi A Put Mi Trust Pon
  4. Musical Ambassador feat. Leroy Sibbles
  5. Chase My Heart feat. Cheryl
  6. Seems Like It's Over
  7. Where Is The Music?
  8. Hang On Natty feat. Sugar Minott
  9. Treading
  10. A Yah Wi Deh
  11. Phenomenal Eleven
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Japanese reggae pioneer Nahki -- active in music business since the early 80s -- has recorded songs with some of Jamaica's top producers and musicians like Sly & Robbie, Steely & Clevie, Clive Hunt, Willie Lindo and other hit-makers from around the globe such as Andy Marvel, Phillip Leo And Dick Lee. Besides that he has performed in Japan, New York and the homeland of reggae music, Jamaica. In Japan, Nahki's star reputation rose beyond the reggae audience in 1996 when his combination with Diana King "I'll Do It" became a huge hit single nationwide. "Phenomenal 11" is Nahki's 11th full length album, which is produced by G-Conqueror of Guiding Star Muzik and Nahki himself. Nahki's strong connection to Jamaica is expressed through the involvement of such well known names like veteran singers Leroy Sibbles and Sugar Minott, the musicians Sly Dunbar, Robbie Shakespear, Steely & Clevie, Bongo Herman and mixing engineers Phillip Smart and Colin "Bulby" York. The majority of the 11 tracks included on this album takes the listener back to the foundation of dancehall reggae with refurnished versions of classic Studio One riddims such as "Death In The Arena" ("A Yah Wi Deh"), "Stars" ("Stand Firm"), "Guiding Star" ("Musical Ambassador") and "Get In The Groove" ("Hang On Natty"). Furthermore you'll recognize a few revitalized dancehall riddims from the late 80s/early 90s. This collection of tunes has some fine moments which include the opening track ""Stand Firm", "Peace Of Mind", Musical Ambassador", "Hang On Natty", "A Yah Wi Deh" and the former single "Treading". But unfortunately their are also a few weak efforts around like for example the title track "Phenomenal Eleven" and "Seems Like It's Over". Overall opinion is that "Phenomenal 11" benefits from the strength of the -- endlessly recycled -- riddims and the combination tunes with the Jamaican vets.