Picture Of Selassie
Khari Kill
Outta "D" Ghetto Inc.
October 7, 2007

Khari Kill - Picture of Selassie Track list
  1. Bird Pepper
  2. Humble As A Lamb
  3. Mary Grandson
  4. Smoking Around
  5. Picture Of Selassie
  6. As I Am
  7. Feel It
  8. Free Jah Cure
  9. Marijuana Pumping
  10. Real Bad (Pray For Dem)
  11. Jesus
  12. Mad Cow
  13. While I'm Living
  14. Don't Loose Your Soul
  15. Top Ranking
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 25-
Very Good -Votes: 7-
Good -Votes: 6-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 1-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 41
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Born in the ghetto of La Horqutta in Trinidad and currently based in Brooklyn NY, Khari Obafemi Williams -- known in reggae circles as Khari Kill -- can be regarded as one of the most promising new conscious singjays to emerge in recent times. In 2005 he recorded the single "Picture Of Selassie", a cut on Massive B's refurnished version of Johnny Osbourne's "Truths & Rights" riddim, which instantly put his name on the reggae map as it hit the reggae charts worldwide. More singles followed including "Mary Grandson" (again for Massive B), "Bird Pepper", "Jesus", "Marijuana Pumping", "Feeling U" (all of them for Outta D. Ghetto Inc.) and "While I'm Living" (Lustre Kings), which aroused new attention from Brooklyn to Berlin, Trinidad to Tokyo.

And now Khari Kill's much anticipated first full length album -- just like his very successful debut single titled "Picture Of Selassie" -- has been released by record label Outta D. Ghetto Inc. The 15-track cd features songs that rage against oppression, poverty, racism, injustice and evil principalities in both high and low places. Of course there's "Picture Of Selassie", one of the strongest tunes included on this set. But there are more great efforts around, each of them unmistakable showing that Khari Kill is a major talent.

"Bird Pepper" is a very strong album opener, which is delivered over the solid "Sign" riddim. Khari Kill tells a wonderful story with "Mary Grandson" across Bobby Konders' lick of Yabby You's "Jah Love" riddim. The real nice "Reality" riddim underpins "Smoking Around", the first of two solid herb tunes included here, the other being "Marijuana Pumping" over Marlon Asher's "Ganja Farmer" riddim. Even though "Free Jah Cure" can be seen as an 'outdated' tune because the Cure has already been released, it's still worth of hearing. Great lyrics and an awesome riddim track make "Jesus" one of the stand outs. It's followed by the solid "Mad Cow" on the "Patience" riddim and the great Lustre Kings production "While I'm Living", which utilizes the "New Day" riddim.

Overall this is a truly worthwhile debut album from an artist who has the skill and talent to become a powerful force in conscious reggae music.