Album review
Pirates' Anthem
Home T, Cocoa Tea, Shabba Ranks
30 - 07 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Home T,Cocoa Tea,Shabba Ranks - Pirates' Anthem
  2. Home T - Single Life
  3. Cocoa Tea - Camouflage
  4. Shabba Ranks - A Nuh Me Seh So
  5. Home T,Cocoa Tea,Shabba Ranks - Holding On
  6. Home T - Could It Be Love
  7. Cocoa Tea - First Date
  8. Shabba Ranks - Lovable
  9. Home T,Cocoa Tea,Shabba Ranks - Turn It Down
  10. Home T - Where Were You
  11. Cocoa Tea - Why Turn Down The Sound
  12. Home T,Cocoa Tea,Shabba Ranks - Stop Spreading Rumours
  13. Home T,Cocoa Tea,Shabba Ranks - Pirates' Anthem (Skull & Crossbones 12" mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

One of the UK's most famous reggae labels, Greensleeves, celebrated it's 25th birthday in 2001. They have come a long way from it's origins as a West London record store selling all types of music to local fans. To mark this first quarter century they are re-issuing many albums from their extensive back catalogue. These albums are all Digitally Re-mastered and are at a special cheaper price. Titles range from early Roots and Dub, through the heady days of 80's Dancehall to today's hardcore Ragga, and feature just about all of Reggae's Superstars from 1976 to the modern day. Since the 1970's Greensleeves has remained at the cutting edge of Jamaican music, promoting each successive wave - Reggae, Dub, Dancehall and Ragga - to a world-wide audience. It's first releases were instantly successful: Dr. Alimatado's legendary 'Best Dressed Chicken In Town' crossed over to achieve cult status in the punk era, and Greensleeves built on this success with a catalogue brimful of classic albums and huge crossover hits like Shaggy's 'Oh Carolina', Beenie Man's 'Who Am I?' and Mr. Vegas' 'Heads High'.
From the second batch of classic re-releases comes the album "Home T, Cocoa Tea, Shabba Ranks : Pirates' Anthem". The album was first released 1989 as "Holding On" and was produced by Augustus "Gussie" Clarke for his Anchor Recording Company. Gussie's crystal clear productions were ruling the scene and Cocoa Tea and Shabba Ranks were some of the most consistent hitmakers of that time. The album includes the hits Holding On and the toughest reggae single of the year and number one in the British reggae charts, Pirates' Anthem, dealing with the illegal radio stations. One of the most popular tunes on the album was First Date by Cocoa Tea. It captures Cocoa Tea's impassioned vocals across an easy, effortlessly spirited riddim, while Why Turn Down The Sound is a nice 'soundbwoy' tune. The same goes for Where Were You by Home T, while his tune Single Life comes across the 'Rumours' riddim.
Nice one !

Teacher & Mr. T.