Destroys The Invaders
Prince Jammy
July 22, 2007

Track list
  1. Conspiracy On Neptune
  2. Martian Encounter
  3. Saturn Bombardment
  4. Attack On Ganymede
  5. War On The Asteroid Belt
  6. The Great Red Spot
  7. Life On Uranus
  8. Final Destruction
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Inspired by a popular video game (Space Invaders) Prince Jammy released this set as a kind of answer to Scientist's 1981 album "Meets the Space Invaders". In 1980 they already had a kind of clash on "Scientist vs. Prince Jammy - Big Showdown", both showing their skills on Henry 'Junjo' Lawes productions.

"Destroys The Invaders" dates from 1982, when dub was ruling the dances, and when Prince Jammy, Scientist and King Tubby were enjoying the success that had never before known to mere sound engineers. Some three years later Prince Jammy would turn the entire reggae world upside down with the introduction of Wayne Smith's "Under Me Sleng Teng", a strictly digital production.

The well known riddims dubbed up by Prince Jammy are played by the Roots Radics (who else?), recorded at Channel One and mixed at King Tubby's studio at 18 Drumilly Avenue. The quirky laser, oscillator and space noises might sound a little outdated and annoying at times, but the way Prince Jammy brutalises eight of his own produced riddims of the day is excellent. It's a dry and tough style with plenty emphasis on the bass and drum. Best tracks are "Conspiracy On Neptune" (Junior Reid's "Jailhouse"), "Martian Encounter" (Wayne Smith's "Life Is A Moment In Space"), "Attack On Gannymede" and "War In The Asteroid Belt".

Not his best dub album, but certainly enjoyable.