Pleasure Dub
Tommy McCook & The Supersonics
Pressure Sounds
August 5, 2009

Tommy McCook & The Supersonics - Pleasure Dub Track list
  1. Tracking Dub
  2. Love Dub
  3. Dub With Strings
  4. Lift Off
  5. Ride De Dub
  6. Rema Skank
  7. Bond Street Rock
  8. Many Questions
  9. The Attorney
  10. Silver Hour
  11. Twilight Rock
  12. Dreads Leaving Babylon
  13. Side Walk Doctor
  14. I Shave The Barber
  15. Barbering
  16. Seven Eleven (7-11)
  17. I See Your Face Version
  18. Scrubit feat. Lizzy
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 2-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 10
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
In particular releases produced by London based brothers Chris and Duke Peckings like the two Bitty McLean albums "On Bond Street With The Supersonics" and "Made In Jamaica", and the samplers "Old Skool, Young Blood Vols 1 & 2", but also, although with lesser impact, Peter Hunnigale's "Free Soul" LP, have caused renewed interest in the original recordings from the rocksteady era, especially those produced by Duke Reid for his Treasure Isle label.

Now, even though this release from Pressure Sounds doesn't contain the original rocksteady classics one might be looking for, it's still a very interesting collection of tunes as it features dubbed up versions of classic Treasure Isle tunes including Phyllis Dillon's "The Right Track", Alton Ellis' "Ain't That Loving You" and "Midnight Hour", The Paragons' "The Tide Is High" and "Riding On A High & Windy Day", The Techniques' "Traveling Man", The Melodians' "You Have Caught Me" and "Things You Say You Love" by The Jamaicans. These dubs were mixed by Duke Reid's nephew Errol Brown at Treasure Isle Studio down on Bond Street in the early to mid-seventies and appeared on the LP "Pleasure Dub", actually the third installment of a series of three dub albums emerging from the Duke Reid archives. "Treasure Dub Vols 1 & 2" have been regularly available both on LP and CD, but "Pleasure Dub" -- arguably the best of the three -- has not been available since its first press.

The tracks from the original "Pleasure Dub" set are all featured on this reissue and, surely to any aficionado's pleasure, are bolstered by the classic "Side Walk Doctor", actually a full instrumental cut and originally on the back of I Roy's version of the tune, two truly mad cuts to John Holt's "Ali Baba" namely "I Shave The Barber" and "Barbering", "Seven Eleven (7-11)", an organ cut to Alton Ellis' "Girl I've Got A Date", John Holt's wicked "I See Your Face Version" with its booming bass, and "Scrubit", a dubwise cut to a medley of Alton Ellis hits featuring deejay Lizzy, all originally only available on scarce 45's.

Great stuff from the past and still a delight to hear them after all those years.