Pama Intl
Pama International
Rockers Revolt
June 26, 2010

Pama Track list
  1. Life Circus
  2. Truly Madly Deeply
  3. I Love You Too Much To Ever Stop Lying
  4. Second Chance
  5. Earthquake
  6. What's Going On?
  7. Love We Give
  8. You Make Me High
  9. Evening Time
  10. Thank You
  11. If You Want Me To Stay
  12. Second Chance (G.Corp Version)
  13. Second Chance Version (G.Corp Version)
  14. Earthquake (G.Corp Version)
  15. Dub Quake (G.Corp Version)
  16. Evening Time (G.Corp Version)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Here's a nice reissue of Pama International's self-titled debut album that was originally released back in 2001. The album has been deleted for some years and it's great it's made available once more. We first got a chance to meet their music when they released the album "Love Filled Dub Band" in 2008. Although our first acquaintance with their musical output caused mixed feelings, we have become fans. The Pama Intl's collective line-up included Finny and Sean Flowerdew, Lynval Golding (The Specials/Fun Boy 3) and members from Steel Pulse, Galliano, Pop Will Eat Itself, Bently Rhythm Ace, Style Council, Big Boss Man, The Bongolian and UK skasters Intensified and Ska Cubano.

The album rightfully has become a sort of cult classic over the years. Retro styled reggae, ska, Northern Soul, rocksteady, lovers rock, dub and soul are the ingredients of their sound. It feels like spinning those old Trojan 45's once more because the band knows how to create a compelling vibe of good time music. It's not simply a copy of the way reggae was made in the 60s and 70s, it's an heartfelt tribute to the music and musicians of those days, but nevertheless with a true sound of their own.

The album comes with 5 bonus versions (tracks 12-16), taken from the now deleted Pama Intl-Dub Store Special EP which came out in 2005 and was mixed by Groove Corporation.

More than worthwhile checking out!