Album review
Power Of One
Jakki James
Bunjo Music
16 - 11 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. The Way We Were
  2. Encore
  3. Just Another Day
  4. Dangerous
  5. You Wanna Come Back
  6. Let's Build A Mountain
  7. Only A Fantasy
  8. Our Day Will Come
  9. Like A Toy
  10. One Drop
  11. Straight Ahead
  12. Praise Him
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Every now and then something special happens in the world of reggae music, another star is born, another major talent emerges. Jakki James aka Jakki is one such artist - simply awesome! Far from being a newcomer to the music business, this African-Canadian of Jamaican origin is just the best-kept secret on the Toronto music scene. Starting her singing career at age 10, and after years of school and church choir, plays, dance groups and stage performances plus her numerous live show appearances, recording sessions and extended travels over later years, Jakki has experienced that hard, mind-boggling, hypocritical, untrustworthy yet rewarding road that often-times is show business, and has survived. She has had her share of triumphs along the way, as she has been the recipient of many awards and favourable media mention. "Have A Good Time" and "Like A Toy" - the latter included on this set - are two of her more successful reggae recordings and served as glimpses into her potential and vocal abilities.
Now we're treated to her first full length album entitled "Power Of One". Twelve well-produced tracks are featured here on which Jakki proves to be an outstanding talent, a sophisticated songstress with a stunning vocal technique. No doubt any music lover will be impressed and thrilled by Jakki's beautiful vocal delivery as we were when we heard her for the first time. Nine self-penned tunes and three covers are included on this album, all fully showcasing that Jakki's performances are nothing less than stellar and that the musical arrangements are first-class. All tracks are played by real musicians including Everton "Pablo" Paul, David Fowler, Sam Weller, Pete Martin, Paul Bennett and the legendary JoJo Bennett, to name a few. When it comes to the cover songs one is first treated to "The Way We Were", the Barbara Streisand monster hit of some time ago. Then there's the wonderful "Our Day Will Come", originally done by Ruby & The Romantics, and furthermore Jakki delivers a nice interpretation of the Bob Marley song "One Drop". However, the most interesting part are the original tunes. All these efforts are truly above par and very entertaining with Jakki vocally and lyrically shining very bright in gems such as the wonderful "Encore", the impressive "Just Another Day", the awesome "Dangerous" and the appealing "Straight Ahead". Actually there's no weak tune to be found on this - what can be called - Neo-Soul recording mixed with a good measure of Reggae and Gospel. This is music for the mature listener, in other words... "Big People's Music". Do check it out!!

Teacher & Mr. T.

Buy the CD