Words Of Truth
Peter Runks
Divine Vessel Music
September 5, 2011

Track list
  1. Intro
  2. Can't Keep A Good Man Down
  3. Badness Outta Style
  4. Deliver Us
  5. Why Should I
  6. Fantasy feat. Avalanchee
  7. Bless Da Place
  8. Blood Inna Mi Eye
  9. She Needs Your Love
  10. Run Dem Outta Town feat. Landlord
  11. Mamma I Love You
  12. Let Loose
  13. Watch How Da System A Gwan
  14. Don't Need Dat In My Life
  15. Harden Not Your Heart feat. Mikey General
  16. Reasoning
  17. Save Your Soul
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Peter Runks, a talented reggae artist who made his mark with hit singles like "Badness Outta Style", "She Needs Your Love", "Bless The Place", and most recently "Blood Inna Mi Eye", is back with a brand new album entitled "Words Of Truth".

Born in Nassau, Bahamas, November 12th 1977, Tawanto Saunders aka Peter Runks grew up in one of Nassau's inner city communities where he faced struggles and a lot of pressure until he decided to receive Christ as his Lord and Savior in February 1995. Since then Peter Runks pursued his talent for singing and recorded his first album entitled "Divine Vessel" in September 1998 with Bahamian producer Dillon McKenzie at Commonwealth Recording Studio in Nassau, Bahamas. This endeavour led to an American state to state tour with L.G.Wise and D.C.P in the year 2000.

In July 2001, Peter Runks made a musical pilgrimage to the birthplace of reggae music, Jamaica, to record tracks for his sophomore album entitled "Let Loose The Prophets". While there he recorded at Anchor Recording Studio with producer Rudy Valentino and worked with noted producer and sax player Dean Fraser. In 2002, he took a break from the music and focused on making a life for himself. However in 2007, Peter Runks re-invented himself and made his comeback with the single "Save Your Soul" on the "Copy Cat" riddim, which was produced by Ray Armbrister for Buff Boo Records. In July 2008, he recorded his second single for Buff Boo Records titled "Badness Outta Style" on the "Promise" riddim, which was quite successful in the Bahamas as well as internationally.

"Words Of Truth", his third full length album, is a solid compilation of song spreading positive and uplifting messages for which he teamed up with various producers from the Bahamas as well as Germany (Ingo Rheinbay of Pow Pow Productons), Austria (Irievibrations production crew and also Sam Gilly of House Of Riddim) and Jamaica (David Getto of Judgement Yard). Peter Runks, who now and then easily switches his vocal style, fully shows that he's a very talented, but also mature artist with a powerful voice. Also lyrically his tunes are worth hearing, and even though he's a devout Christian he only occassionally praises Jesus Christ in his songs. When the "Intro" has faded away, the first vocal cut, "Can't Keep A Good Man Down" across a riddim that is reminiscent of Dennis Brown & Gregory Isaacs' "Raggamuffin", get things started in a real fine way. From there the listener is treated to a decent amount of worthwhile tunes including the street anthem "Badness Outta Style", the solid "Deliver Us", the strong "Why Should I" on Pow Pow's "Everlasting" riddim, the dancehall flavoured "Blood Inna Mi Eye", the wonderful lovers piece "She Needs Your Love", the outstanding "Let Loose" on a relick of Bob Marley's "War", and the combination with Mikey General, "Harden Not Your Heart", over Studio One's classic "Real Rock" riddim (one of the most popular, most versioned, and most familiar reggae riddims ever).

Whether you've heard of Peter Runks or not doesn't matter. What really matters is to make sure you're gonna check his "Words Of Truth" album, because this is a collection of tunes worthwhile hearing.