Album review
Prezident Selections
Prezident Brown

Tracking list

  1. Heathen chant
  2. Prezident selection
  3. Lethal weapon
  4. Need your loving featuring Kareem Baaqi
  5. Kick it weh
  6. False pretender
  7. Johnny was featuring Bunny Ruggs
  8. Bun down Rome
  9. Soap opera
  10. African ting featuring Don Yute
  11. Reality
  12. Roots and culture featuring U Brown
  13. Defend the doe
  14. Seduction featuring Mikey Spice
  15. Roots in the music
  16. Open sesame
  17. Youthman featuring Mikey Spice
  18. Out of control (remix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

Prezident Brown belongs to the school of culture-oriented deejays which developed in the nineties, following on from the success of Tony Rebel. Born Fitz Albert Cotterell, he grew up in the north coast resort of Ocrabessa, where he began deejaying at the Bamboo Lounge with local sound King Stereo Mix. Initially known as Junior Ranking, he was soon called Slim Brown by veteran deejay Nicodemus, who spotted the influence of U Brown in the youngster's style. It was the late Jack Ruby who finally crowned him 'Prezident'. In 1986 Prezident Brown made his debut recording for Ochi label RG with a track called 'Dancehall Doctor'. Roughly two years later he linked up with Callo Collins, Barry O'Hare and Stephan Stewart at Grove Music, recording songs like 'Introducing Prezident Brown', 'Madly In Love' and 'Magnet & Steel'. Prior to Irie FM playing music by north coast acts, Brown transferred to Courtney Cole's 'Roof International' label, voicing 'Sound Ago Dead', 'Tears' and 'Everything's Right' (shared with Jack Radics and Professor Frisky). Once Irie FM was up and running he rejoined Barry O'Hare and the hits began to flow in earnest. On this - already - third album for producer Barry O'Hare (who contributes a fair bit of the musicianship as well) Prezident Brown delivers a decent set of songs on solid riddims ranging from modern roots to jump-up ragga, making this undoubtedly his best album so far. Standout tracks include: "Heathen Chant" (a cut which stands comparison with those by Tony Rebel, Shabba Ranks and Ninjaman on the same riddim), Bun down Rome, Reality, the duet with Don Yute "African ting", "Roots in the music" and "Roots and culture", the combination tune with his spiritual father U Brown. This album shows why Prezident Brown has been one of the most consistently interesting deejays to emerge in the 1990s.

Teacher & Mr. T.