Album review
The Prime Of Horace Andy
Horace Andy
Music Collection International

Tracking list

  1. Skylarking
  2. Love of a woman
  3. Zion gate
  4. Just say who
  5. Something on my mind
  6. You are my angel
  7. Money money
  8. Rain from the sky
  9. My guiding star
  10. Bless you
  11. Don't try to use me (12 " version)
  12. Nice and easy
  13. True love shines bright
  14. Collie weed
  15. Ain't no sunshine
  16. Sea of love
  17. Love you to want me
  18. Natural mystic
  19. Better collie
  20. Riding for a fall
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

The 1951 born Horace Hinds, aka Horace Andy, aka "Sleepy" has always been a favoured vocalist among reggae fans, and his eerie, haunting style has been imitated endlessly over the years. His career started in the early '70s at Studio One with the single "Something on my mind", and eventually resulted in the classic "Skylarking". He cut two albums and a bunch of classic singles for Coxsone Dodd and teamed up with Bunny "Striker" Lee, and its his productions that supply "The Prime Of Horace Andy". Following reggae custom, Bunny Lee got Horace to remake his best -know songs in the then current "rockers" and "flying cymbal" sound. All the hits from that time are present on this faultless compilation : the dramatic "You are my angel", the two remakes of Delroy Wilson's Studio One tracks "Rain from the sky" and "Riding for a fall", the ganja tunes "Collie weed" and "Better collie", and the roots tracks "Zion gate" , "Money, money" and "My guiding star" which comes from the Heptones Studio One repertoire. From the "Pure Ranking" album comes the Bob Marley cover "Natural Mystic" and you can find "You are my angel" , "Ain't no sunshine" , on the recently re-released Trojan cd "You are my angel". Since Bunny Lee worked almost exclusively with King Tubby, this compilation also highlights the mixing qualities of the sorely missed King Tubby. The UK based Music Collection International label has delivered a splendid compilation set, with extensive sleevenotes by Ian McCann. It's already their fourth reggae release, and next to their wicked 23 track dub set "Dub Chill Out" probably their best.

More Horace Andy reviews :
Good Vibes
Roots And Branches
Dance Hall Style

Teacher & Mr. T.