Album review
Progressive Youth
Peter Broggs
RAS Records

Tracking list

  1. Never Forget Jah
  2. Don't Get Weary
  3. Jah Jah Help Us Progressive
  4. I Don't Know
  5. Cool Down
  6. Forward Natty
  7. Having A Party
  8. Live Up
  9. River Jordan
  10. Give Thanks
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Peter Broggs is a singer and songwriter who finds his inspiration in his love for Jah Rastafari. Under the personal guidance of Dr. Dread of RAS records he has recorded several roots albums in the early 80s such as "Rastafari Liveth", "Cease The War" and "Reasoning". His latest outing for the RAS imprint is the excellent "Rejoice" set, an album with a contemporary sound, but still filled with musical messages.
Before he started his recording career with RAS records he actually voiced an album for Eric Lamont, better known as Binghi Bunny from the Morwells and guitar player with The Roots Radics. The album is called "Progressive Youth' and RAS Records releases it for the first time on cd.
On the album (recorded 1978/79 ?) you'll hear a young Peter Broggs, blessed with a fragile voice, singing and chanting over some wicked riddims. There's a cover of Sugar Minott's River Jordan, reworkings of Studio One classics but most tracks arec original songs. The message throughout the album is strictly cultural. The backing by The Roots Radics is just wicked, recorded at Channel One with Bunny Tom Tom as engineer. The awesome mix was done by a young Scientist at King Tubby's.
In its entirety I regard the album as a small masterpiece of late 70s roots reggae. Buy this one !

Teacher & Mr. T.