Album review
Project III
Midnite Branch I
Natural Vibes
December 21 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Inner Queenly
  2. Make Manifest
  3. Justify
  4. Holding On To
  5. The Law
  6. Bling Scene
  7. M Ah W & Z Ah N
  8. Wa Dem A Do (Pollen)
  9. Ainshant
  10. Teach Root Each Root
  11. Humble
  12. Soon Is
  13. Permit Zion
  14. What Will I Give
  15. Feedin Een
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

"Project III" was released in late 2003 by the "Natural Vibes" label, based out of Massachusetts MA. Together with "Cipheraw", "Geoman" and "He Is Jah", this "Project III" set is part of a growing series of albums delivered by the innovative production camp known as Midnite Branch I, an offshoot of Midnite formed by lead singer/songwriter Vaughn Benjamin, bassist/producer Phil Merchant and Dion Hopkins. In recent years the unique sound of Midnite - and thus also Midnite Branch I - has attracted notable attention of roots fans from the four corners of the world, and this album again shows the reason why. Not only does it contain the heavyweight roots sound Midnite is known for on excellent tunes like for instance "Justify", "Permit Zion", "Teach Root, Each Root" and "Feedin Een", but it also forges some new musical directions, especially on tunes like "The Law", "Soon Is", "M ah W Z ah N" and the awesome "Make Manifest", the latter incorporating some beautiful live saxophone playing. Lyrically this collection of tunes is strong as ever with pensive lyrics that urge you to listen carefully and keep you involved till the very end. What more can we say... this is another must-have album for all fans of Midnite (Branch I)!

Teacher & Mr. T.