Album review
Artists Only! Records
13 - 07 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. What We Gonna Do
  2. Songs of Love
  3. Them a Talk
  4. No Vacancy
  5. The Ancient Land
  6. Prophecy
  7. God and King
  8. Woman's World
  9. Tonight
  10. Reason
  11. Heat Is On
  12. Granny Slang
  13. It's Everywhere
  14. No World Without People
  15. Long Before
  16. O.A.U.
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Screwdriver (Dalton Lindo, b. 1960, St. James, Jamaica) is one of the most spiritual roots and culture vocal artists in reggae music today. Critics and fans have embraced this singer who was inspired by early dancehall singing influences as Pinchers, Pliers, Spanner Banner, and Tenor Saw. His career began the mid 1980's with the encouragement of Beres Hammond. He recorded a number of local hits including "No Mama" in which he topped the Jamaican charts in 1989. Screwdriver relocated to Florida in the early 90s and his first album, Teach Dem was released in 1992. He released two more successful albums in the 90's Calling Calling and Let Me Remind You. Critics and fans agree that Let Me Remind You offers one of the best collections of conscious works released for that year.
In 2001 he released the self produced album 'Prophecy', which sees the artist in fine form, delivering a bunch of excellent roots'n'culture tunes, brought in his unique passionate manner. The album opens with the anti-violence ballad What We Gonna Do, followed by the outstanding tune Songs Of Love. Next comes the hard-headed Them A Talk on which Screwdriver manages to invoke the sound and spirit of both Peter Tosh and Bunny Wailer simultaneously. Heat Is On rocks to a swinging ska beat, just as the tune Granny Slang. The Ancient Land is a powerful biting ballad, while the title track is a fine rastafari anthem. If our memory serves us well God And King was a hit for Screwdriver, a fine song across the 'Satta' riddim. Tonight is the only lovers tune of the album, followed by the uptempo song Reason. The album is truly well worth checking if you are looking for strong melodies, rootical tunes and an occasional ballad.

Teacher & Mr. T.