Protection (Sip A Cup Showcase Vol. 9)
Michael Prophet
Sip A Cup
April 19, 2010

Track list
Side 1
  1. Protection
  2. Protection Dub
  3. Brain Washing
  4. Lying To The Youth Dub
Side 2
  1. Africa Don't Cry No More
  2. Dub Cry Dub
  3. Ketch A Fire
  4. Ketch Dubwise
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 2
London based Reggae and Dub producer Gussie "P" Prenton started his series of "Showcase Style" vinyl only 12" in 2008 with the release of the Twinkle Brothers' "Repent", which was then followed by Robbie Valentine's "Progressive People", Matic Horns' "400 Years", Danny Red's "Iteopian Rock", Earl Sixteen's "Jah Messengers", Johnny Clarke's "Sip It Up', Cornell Campbell's "Rock My Soul" and Junior Delgado's "Hot Stepping".

The 9th installment in the series features four roots vocals from Michael Prophet (real name Michael George Haynes) followed by Gussie P's distinctive dub mixes. Michael Prophet's first recordings were for producer Yabby You in 1977. He made his debut with the single "Praise You Jah Jah", and scored his first Jamaican hit with a version of The Heptones' "Fight It To The Top". The 1980 album "Serious Reasoning" was released by Island Records and established his reputation internationally. After working with Yabby You, he also recorded for Henry "Junjo" Lawes, adapting to the prevailing dancehall sound and having his biggest hit with "Gunman". During the first half of the 1980s he recorded for producers such as Don Mais, Al Campbell, Sugar Minott, Winston "Niney" Holness, and Winston Riley, cementing his status as one of Jamaica's most popular singers. After living in Miami for a time, he moved to England, where he recorded the single "Your Love" which reached number one in the UK reggae chart in 1990. Throughout the nineties and the first decade of the new millennium he recorded only occasionally and not much was heard from this fine singer.

This "Progression" showcase album fully shows that Michael Prophet is still capable of recording great tunes. Backed by solid roots riddims laid by Gussie P's regular studio musicians including Mafia & Fluxy, Steven "Marley" Wright and Henry "Buttons" Tenyue, the singer with the "crying" tenor vocal style makes a good impression. "Protection", an updated version of a tune he recorded earlier with Vivian "Yabby You" Jackson, is a solid effort. It's followed by the outstanding "Brain Washing", which is underpinned by an awesome riddim with a wicked bassline and nice guitar picking. Next up is the cultural piece "Africa Don't Cry No More", again a tune truly worth of hearing and the same goes for the matching "Ketch A Fire". Needless to say that Gussie P's dub versions are always great to hear.

Unfortunately Gussie P releases are really hard to find and too often almost impossible to get, so when you come across this Michael Prophet set don't hesitate and grab yourself a copy!