Album review
Protect Us Jah
Morgan Heritage
VP Recordsn

Tracking list

  1. Set yourself free
  2. Exalt Jah
  3. What man can say
  4. People are fighting (featuring Tony Rebel)
  5. When will we decide
  6. Mama & papa
  7. Let's make up
  8. Africa, here we come
  9. The king is coming
  10. Watch the heathen
  11. Let them talk
  12. Protect us Jah
  13. Love is flowing
  14. Me or you
  15. Promise
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Fifteen beauties on this second album of Morgan Heritage, so called because they're all children of Denroy Morgan the former Black Eagles bandleader. They have a real good sound together and Bobby "Digital" Dixon's production helps make this a top-quality album. Incisive real roots songs, impeccable harmonies and Bobby's symphathetic riddims all add up to a truly uplifting and blistering set. Even within this solid album some tunes stand out: the title track "Protect us Jah", which is laid over the "Heathen" riddim, the cut with Tony Rebel "People are fighting", lover's rock track "Promise" and the tune over the "Drum song" riddim, "Set yourself free.

Teacher & Mr. T.