ADSOM (A Divine State Of Mind)
Paul St. Hilaire
False Tuned-Indigo
October 27, 2006

Track list
  1. Little Song
  2. Peculiar
  3. Praise
  4. Jah Won't Let Us Down
  5. Clock A Tick
  6. Jah Love
  7. Office
  8. Humble
  9. Black Moses
  10. Fortunate
  11. Jah Live Over The Hills
  12. Roosty
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Paul St. Hilaire has become better known now probably by his real name than by his former moniker Tikiman. As Tikiman he performed (a.o. at the last Drum Rhythm Festival held in Amsterdam, the Netherlands) alongside Austrian lounge/downtempo/nu-dub wizards Kruder & Dorfmeister with their MC Sugar B and some of their labelmates. He was prominently featured on Stereotyp's "My Sound" album, released on Kruder & Dorfmeister's G-Stone label, singing the Peter Kruder co-produced title track, "Jahman" and the tune he co-wrote "Fling Style". He also released an album as Rhythm & Sound w/ Tikiman - "Showcase" (now retitled: w/ Paul St.Hilaire) for one of the several anonymous projects linked to the mysterious Berlin dub-techno duo Moritz Von Oswald and Mark Ernestus, Rhythm & Sound. Although the Rhythm & Sound records, which often featured reggae vocalist Paul St. Hilaire, weren't quite as popular or well-known as the duo's Basic Channel recordings, which instead retained their popularity over the years, becoming quite legendary and oft-cited within the techno scene, Von Oswald and Ernestus' Rhythm & Sound work prevailed into the early 2000s, being compiled on two listener-friendly CDs, "Showcase" (1998) and "Rhythm & Sound" (2001). They are now at the reggae rerelease forefront in Germany as they have started rereleasing the complete legendary reggae and dub catalog from Wackie's and they were instrumental for the sound of Blood & Fire's "The Congos & Friends ~ Fisherman Style" on which Paul St. Hilaire's excellent "Carthago" was one of the tracks as well as delivering the superb albums "Rhythm & Sound w/ The Artists", its version album "Rhythm & Sound The Versions", "See Mi Yah" and its version album "See Mi Yah Remixes" on all of which Paul St. Hilaire was featured. More on their releases, whether technodub on Basic Channel or their Rhythm & Sound and Wackie's releases can be found at www.basicchannel.com. And now Dominican born Paul St. Hilaire, living in Berlin, delivers the successor to his first self-produced 2003 album "Unspecified" on his own False Tuned label, less heavily embedded in the Rhythm & Sound style with its deep bass and minimalistic organ and percussion effects, digital with some additional live instrumentation, but more closely influenced by 70s dub and roots, thus making the same move Rhythm & Sound made with their more reggae/dub fused releases mentioned above. It's still the perfect backing for his smooth voice reminiscent of Earl 16 / Bim Sherman on most of the tunes. The first tune "Little Song" calls the listener to check some dub style over a riddim clearly inspired by Lee Perry's seminal "Blackboard Jungle Dub (Ver. 1)". Even more invoking Lee Perry's Black Ark Sound is the very appropriate titled "Peculiar" with its muddy sound and extraterrestrial ghostly backing vocals, followed by the more straightforward midtempo dubby roots reggae backing "Praise" and the soulful "Jah Won't Let Us Down". "Clock A Tick" sounds more experimental both in the backing and the delivery, yet it's still easily recognizable as a Paul St. Hilaire tune, as is the religious even more experimental started but then dubbed into a profound and relaxed call to make a joyful sound "Jah Love". More down to earth is "Office", a dubby half-toasted chant about everyday life (trouble) and coping with the bossman (making a miss). "Humble" is the most experimental and early Rhythm & Sound resembling tune on the album, almost inducing trance with its spoken word delivery over a rustling soundscape, followed by the equally strong, but completely conventional sounding roots reggae of "Black Moses", once more with a scent of Black Ark and the socially engaged "Fortunate", with its children backing vocals, heartfelt singing by Paul St. Hilaire and the beautiful melodic backing. "Jah Live Over The Hills" is another classic roots reggae tune, before the album is closed with "Roosty", a bit more downtempo, but as convincing to bring us to the end of another excellent Paul St. Hilaire album, filled with brilliant tunes, leaving me nothing else than heartily recommending this album to everyone.