Lovers Rock
Peter Spence
Warriors Of Peace Music
August 12, 2005

Track list
  1. Fill My Heart
  2. I Believe In Love
  3. Heart & Soul
  4. Don't Leave Me Lonely
  5. Sweet Temptation
  6. Lovers Rock
  7. Yesterdays Magic
  8. Take The Blame
  9. I'll Be There
  10. Frivolous Woman
  11. To The Bone
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Peter Spence's album "Lovers Rock", released on the artist's own "Warriors Of Peace" label in 2003 and soon to be re-issued by Jet Star, features a collection of his early works which were previously only available on 12" vinyl. The tracks included here were originally released between 1985 and 1995, and are produced by Gussie P, G.T. Haynes, Fashion Records and Peter Spence himself. Included on this set - subtitled "A Journey Through Yesterday's Magic" - is his debut track, the wonderful "Frivolous Woman", which he recorded for Birmingham producer G.T. Haynes, who also managed Pato Banton, Tippa Irie and Annette B, in addition to Peter himself. Furthermore we're treated to his 1987 breakthrough hit on Greensleeves called "Don't Leave Me Lonely", for which he received a 'Best Newcomer' award. Other great tunes found here are the distinguished hit and blues-party favourite "Yesterday's Magic", and "I Believe In Love", both recorded for the London based reggae independent label called Fashion Records. Also around is "I'll Be There", the title track of his debut album for G.T. Haynes. It was released in 1989 to rave reviews and won 'Best Reggae Album' for that year at the Black Music awards, whilst Peter himself was voted 'Best Male Reggae Singer'. Also worth of hearing are "Take The Blame", "To The Bone" and the two self produced tunes "Fill My Heart" and "Sweet Temptation". In all Peter Spence has compiled a wonderful collection of love songs, truly worthwhile checking out.

Buy the CD