Album review
Meet In Berlin At Checkpoint Charlie
The Mad Professor & Puls Der Zeit
15 - 04 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Sex And Crime Dub
  2. Abu Dhabi Check
  3. Walkman Blaumann Yellowman
  4. Graffititiger
  5. Taugenichts
  6. Nordpol Emil
  7. Tribute To Joseph Bueys
  8. Flower On The Slope
  9. Spuren In Wind
  10. Zaire
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

The album "Meet In Berlin At Checkpoint Charlie" is a unique dub/reggae clash album between the renowed Mad Professor and the German underground reggae/dub band Puls Der Zeit (Pulse Of Time) fronted by the mysterious Nico-like Soer La Blanche (The White Sister), who were dub-obsessed and produced by Peter Vinyl. In 1983 Puls Der Zeit met the Mad Professor and became mutually enamored, working jointly on a variety of records and experimental musical projects. The resulting fusion of talent, temparement, bonding and love for the roots of reggae resulted in 1989 in this release as a cassette-only. Now it's available on cd.
The atmosphere throughout the album is very experimental and eccentric. The tracks of Pulse Der Zeit are flavored with the vocals of Soer La Blanche. Her vocal delivery perfectly matches the endless stream of dub/reggae/rock sounds of the band, resulting in an appealing reggae sound. The Mad Professor tracks are some of the best he has ever recorded. His dub treatement is unique and loved all over the world.
Essential food for thought !

Teacher & Mr. T.