Album review
Putting Up Resistance
Beres Hammond
VP Records-Walboomers Music
December 28 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Putting Up Resistance
  2. I'm In Love
  3. Give Me A Break
  4. Look Fi Me Girl
  5. Strange
  6. Tonight Is The Night
  7. On The Dance Floor
  8. Love On The Wire
  9. Only The Lonely
  10. Give Thanks In The Morning
  11. Heroes Die Young
  12. Distress
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Beres Hammond's career started around 1973 when he performed in one of Winston Merritone Blake's amateur shows. He won and afterwards the producers rushed him. By 1975 Beres Hammond had become Zap Pow's lead vocalist, singing on "Zap Pow" (Mango, '78), and "Reggae Rules" (Rhino, '80) while still recording as Beres Hammond. In '79, he went solo, and in decidedly un-Jamaican fashion, released the album "Soul Reggae" (Aquarius,'76) rather than a string of singles. It took off, but when shops clamored for an album single, he and friend (and producer) Willie Lindo recorded an additional ballad, "One Step Ahead" instead. It reached number one, putting Beres on the map. Another hit, "I'm in Love" (Joe Gibbs) dropped in '78, and in '79, he created a track for the film "Children of Babylon." But he wasn't making money, so he spent time doing backup vocals. In order to have something of his own to fall back on, Beres formed his own label, Harmony House in the mid '80s. A change was coming. In '85, he released two singles; 'Groovy Little Thing' and with Lindo, a tune called 'What One Dance Can Do'. The latter blew up, both scored internationally and were released on the album "Beres Hammond". Further quality sets stormed the charts and in 1990 he released an album called 'Putting Up Resistance' which he recorded with deejay/producer Tappa Zukie. Beres is a man equally at home singing soothing lovers, dancehall ballads, reality songs and classic modern roots. He's widely regarded as Jamaica’s most prolific crooner, his track record of hit songs is unprecedented in reggae. There are few reggae singers whose career would contain so many hits; Gregory Isaacs, Dennis Brown, maybe Luciano.
The aforementioned album "Putting Up Resistance" is now available for the first time at mid-price. The album presents twelve original Beres compositions with co-writing and production from reggae icon Tappa Zukie. The song Putting Up A Resistance instantly became a reggae classic upon release and remains a staple in Beres’s live show today. Another hit single from the album was I'm In Love. This album marked a new direction for the singer/ songwriter and has become a template for his studio albums – with its mixture of love songs and conscious messages and cutting edge production techniques.

Teacher & Mr. T.