Album review
Queen Omega
Queen Omega
Green House Family
22 - 08 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Uprising
  2. Hypocrites And Parasites
  3. Living In Zion
  4. All For You
  5. The Truth
  6. Warning feat. Sizzla & Capleton
  7. Babylon Pressure
  8. After Pride Comes Shame
  9. Take A Chance
  10. It's Healing
  11. Coming Back Home feat. Vylmark
  12. Highest High
  13. Power
  14. Tell Me
  15. I Will Never Bow feat. Archie Wonder
  16. Redemption
  17. Never Ending
  18. I Realize feat. Anthony B
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Trinidad born, Jeneile Osborne a.k.a. Queen Omega - meaning the Mother Of Creation - grew up listening to calypso and after appearing as a musical child prodigy on local talent and television talent quests from as early as eight years old, sang harmonies for many leading soca act. When she embraced the Rastafarian faith Queen Omega gained the courage to lend her prodigious talents to reggae music. She wrote reams of lyrics and started to appear on local reggae concerts, soon establishing her name as a female artist that can stand up spiritually and consciously. Her breakthrough single "Warning" - featuring Capleton and Sizzla - and the follow up "Highest High", already showcased that twenty-year-old Queen Omega is more than capable of holding her own amongst reggae's finest, both in terms of songwriting ability and vocal performance. Her intoxicating blend of singing and deejaying is now showcased on an eightteen track self-titled debut album. Once having heard her range of vocal techniques and rich, lyrical messages it's obvious why she has been hailed as the female roots reggae sensation of the year. Produced by Michael "Micky D" Swaby and the Green House Family this set captures Queen Omega mainly performing over updated, traditional roots riddims laid by Sly & Robbie, Wayne "Niko" Hinds, Carl Hayden, Barry Bailey, Jazzwad, Earnie Wilks, Juggling Squad and the Ruff Cutt Band. The choice of riddims is fairly good as all of them are ideally suited for Queen Omega's range of songs. No weak tune included here. Besides the solid "Warning", we're treated to three more combination tunes featuring guest appearances from Anthony B and reggae newcomers Vylmark and Archie Wonder respectively. Especially worth of hearing is "I Will Never Bow" with Archie Wonder and "I Realize" with Anthony B. Other highlights are "Hypocrites And Parasites", "Living In Zion", "The Truth", "Take A Chance", "It's The Healing", "Highest High", "Tell Me" and "Never Ending".
This self-titled album fully displays Queen Omega's great skills and talent, and heralds the arrival of a great, new female voice to the roots and dancehall scene.

Teacher & Mr. T.