Album review
Wild Cherry

Tracking list

  1. Raggafunkin
  2. Ridin high
  3. Nice 'n' easy
  4. Soul crazy
  5. The light within
  6. Another one's someone
  7. Your love (keeps me going on)
  8. To be alone
  9. Brother man
  10. Scheme of things
  11. In the groove
  12. Everything in time
  13. One more try
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3

Raggafunkin is the 1994 released debut solo album from Bristol U.K. based singer/songwriter DeVan on his own "Wild Cherry" label. DeVan made his professional debut in the year 1979, after co-founding the band Talisman, the most successful reggae band to come out Bristol. He went solo in 1993 'cause "There was a lot I wanted to express which I couldn't do in a team". DeVan's lyrics are inspired by Jah, Life and Love, and his main influences were Bob Marley and James Brown.
DeVan's first solo album is a fine effort which includes all fresh and original material, songs as well as riddims. This singer/songwriter truly deliveres a bunch of nice and enjoyable tunes ranging from message to lovers' songs. The backing is real tight, bright and full sounding with sometimes horns to add extra flavour. Stand out tracks are: "Ridin high", "Brother man", "Scheme of things" and "One more try".

Teacher & Mr. T.