Album review
Rasta Mystic
Starkey Banton
08 - 04 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Rasta Mystic
  2. The Land & The Sea
  3. Dogs In Town
  4. Jah Never Fail I
  5. Dub Never Fail Us
  6. Mama Africa
  7. Babylon Witch
  8. Black Awareness
  9. Straight From The Heart
  10. Dub De Heart
  11. Dutty Dub
  12. Beautiful
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Another Banton - Jamaican patois term for a deejay "full of lyrics" - steps forward and this time it is one Banton who grew up in London, UK. Harlesden based deejay/singjay Starkey Banton emerged, like many others, through the sound system circuit. In 1993 he released his debut, "Lover Dread", a conscious tune at a time when slackness and gun talk dominated the dancehalls. In 1997 Starkey Banton drew notable attention with the exceptional and well-received mini-album "Powers Youth" (subtitled "Starkey Banton Meets The Dub Organiser"), which he recorded for London-based Fashion Records. Some three years later he returns in the company of the Mad Professor for his next project. Lyrically and vocally interesting the combination with Neil "Mad Professor" Fraser has got to be another winner for an artist who truly can be regarded as one of UK's best deejays. Keeping in the social commentary mode of Ariwa's successful deejays/singjays Macka B and Chukki Starr, Starkey Banton's hard hitting delivery commands serious listening. His powerful performance - underpinned by militant rootsy riddims from Mafia & Fluxy and Black Steel - and the lyrical content of his tunes makes Starkey Banton not only an artist to watch for, but also one that has the skill and talent to appeal to many roots fans. "Rasta Mystic" is a solid album with many enjoyable efforts, including our favourites "The Land & The Sea", "Jah Never Fail I", Mama Africa", "Dogs In Town" and "Straight From The Heart".

Teacher & Mr. T.