Heart So Cold
The Reggae Bubblers
Reggae Bubblers
March 26, 2011

Heart So Cold - The Reggae Bubblers Track list
  1. Zion Is A Holy Place
  2. Time Time
  3. High Society
  4. Heart So Cold
  5. Got We How They Want We
  6. Dutty Babylon
  7. Hard Life
  8. One Door Shut
  9. African Children
  10. Love Life And Live
  11. Haile Selassie
  12. Guide Me Father
  13. Wrath Of A Woman
  14. Give Jah Thanks And Praises
  15. Hope And Pray
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
The Reggae Bubblers is a conscious Roots Reggae band out of St. Croix, Virgin Islands and consists of brothers Cheech Warner and Hayba Maltuba and furthermore Kanjah "Jah-G" Sweeney, Ras Gabri Selasie, Tyronne "T-Rock" Davis, Ras Pulse, and Merkey Auguste. Background vocals are provided by Chantal Joseph and Mallory Sabado. The band has been in existence since 2001. The Bubblers have produced 11 CDs, the latest one released in 2010. Along with the Reggae Bubblers series, The Bubblers also pioneered the Black Starliner Volume series featuring some of the conscious Roots Artists from St. Croix and the Virgin Islands, all music played by the Reggae Bubblers.

The band is strictly roots reggae "... whose consciousness stems from their faith in Rastafari, Haile Selassie I as their Light, Guide, and Salvation! Rastafari is the way! This is the strength and inspiration to the Bubblers' music, which is the King's music. Carrying on the works of Marcus Garvey, Haile Selassie and before." That is the Reggae Bubblers' strength but to be honest also their weakness, as the message is positive and inspiring, but we couldn't find true fresh and original lyrics, too many cliches. The music lacks (we said this before) noteworthy twists and turns to keep you involved for 15 tracks, not least because among those 15 tracks you'll find no real standout tunes.

If you're a true roots reggae fan, and your expectations aren't that high, you might want to check this collection anyway.

Buy the CD