Album review
R&B Hits Reggae Style
Pam Hall
VP Records-Walboomers Music
05 - 05 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Young Heart Run Free
  2. Someday We Will Be Together
  3. Love Makes A Women
  4. My Heart Will Go On
  5. Children Of The Night
  6. I'll Always Love You
  7. Lean On Me
  8. Come See About Me
  9. Love Should Have Brought You
  10. Sad Movies
  11. Unbreak My Heart
  12. Let It Be Me
  13. You Mean The World to Me
  14. Our Day Will Come
  15. I Love Me Some Him
  16. No Time To Lose
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Since the early days of reggae music Jamaican artists have covered soul, pop en funk songs, often resulting in chart entries, but mostly these efforts were denied by the so called 'connoisseurs' of the music. In my opinion -as a reviewer- you should judge the quality of the music, the emotion behind it and ignore your personal feelings about the kind of reggae music that's offered. Whether it's dub, roots, lovers or dancehall, it doesn't matter..listen to it carefully and write down your opinion.
'R&B Hits Reggae Style' is an album by female vocalist Pam Hall, who is the award winning voice behind many of the "female vocal" hits in reggae music over the last few years. Her excellent interpretations of songs like My Heart Will Go On, I Will Always Love You and Unbreak My Heart have scored her countless hours of reggae radio air play and seen her 'versions' rise to the number one spot on Jamaican radio time and again. The album offers a fine selection of soul, pop and R&B do-overs. It includes some of her biggest hits and newly recorded favorites to round out the album. The album concept is aimed at lovers of romantic lyrics and easy-going reggae grooves.
Her version of The Stylistics Children Of The Night is one of the best I've heard. See About Me , the Motown classic, stays pretty close to the original and Candi Staton's Young Hearts Run Free is a fantastic tune, no matter how it's done. I didn't like the original hit song from the movie 'Titanic', but Pam's version adds more power to the song and I like it !
This album is a perfect addition for those who prefer the softer side of reggae music.

Teacher & Mr. T.