Album review
Realms Of Rebel
Tony Rebel
RAS Records
17 - 05 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Loyal Soul Jah
  2. Si Jah Esta a Lado De Me
  3. Hypocrites
  4. Perilous Time
  5. Things Take Time
  6. Things Will Work Out
  7. Need Your Love
  8. One Love
  9. Rasta Right Again
  10. Judgement
  11. A So We Like It
  12. Unconditional Love
  13. Brothers
  14. Who Is?
  15. Queen Divine
  16. Praises In The Morning
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

With his debut in 1988 - a tune called "Casino" for the MGM label - Tony Rebel (real name Patrick Barrett) immediately set the pace for his smooth chanting style of dancehall consciousness. After this first single he started recording for producer Delroy "Callo" Collins and Shocking Vibes. However, it was Donovan Germain who gave Tony Rebel the opportunity to establish his style with singles like "Mandela Story" and the hits "The Armour" and "Instant Death". Curiously enough the cultural-oriented deejay Tony Rebel could hold his ground at a time that gun lyrics and slackness, themes he eschewed, had become very dominant and popular in the dancehalls. By consistently tackling cultural themes on record Rebel built a reputation as the deejay/singer whose work has spearheaded the cultural revival since its inception in the early nineties.One of his most powerful outings was the song, 'Jah By My Side', which became like the national anthem of Jamaica and was the theme song for the World Cup Reggae Boyz soccer team. 'Realms Of Rebel' is his follow-up release to the 'If Jah' album. Tony Rebel has utilized ace producer Donovan Germain as well as using his own expertise to bring a 16 track album which collects a lot of strong tracks. The album features a Latin version of 'Jah By My Side' (Si Jah Esta A Lado De Me) sung in Spanish by Tony and adorned with a new mambo beat as performed by Sly Dunbar and Stephen "Lanky" Marsden. Standout tracks like Loyal Soldier and Rasta Right Again speak of the need to stick to one’s convictions even in these perilous times. Included are hit tunes such as Hypocrites, One Love and Who Is Tony Rebel shows his romantic side on tracks like Need Your Love and Unconditional Love. The Bobby Digital produced tracks Brothers and Judgement are two of the highlights of the album. A precious hymn dedicated to his mother, Queen Divine and the Nyahbingi flavored Praise In The Morning close out this journey in a gentle and positive finality.
'Realms Of Rebel' is a strong Tony Rebel album.

Teacher & Mr. T.